Nightfall

in #cwhlast month (edited)

Stars sparkling in the darkness
Glittering in the night sky
Beauty and power and goodness
Hope rising up in my soul

Moon glowing brightly at nightfall
Lighting up every forest glade
Elegant and majestic and tall
The trees and moon correspond

Fairies flutter in the meadows
Skipping from bloom to bloom
Fey and glad and foes
Disappearing at dawn

IMG_1953.JPG
Image Description: Two champaign glasses with etched writing and tarnished silver stems lay broken on a glass table.

The Story Behind the Photo

Today I set out the two engraved wine glasses from my wedding, opened up my favorite wine, drank from both glasses, then ceremonially smashed them as a celebration of my divorce. The road since I met my ex-husband in 2009 has been a difficult one. I'm thrilled to be continuing in my own journey and healing the scars he left me with.

My word of the year for 2024 is absterge: to cleanse, especially by wiping clean. Soon, perhaps I'll make a post about that. For now I am reveling in two smashed glasses I can deposit in the dumpster, delicious Canadian Ice Wine in my system, and my favorite caramel dark chocolate savored in my mouth. Yet most of all...I am savoring the fresh breeze and sunshine and light of being truly free from a man who did so much harm to me.

Sort:  

I'm glad that you found symbolism that helped you transcend towards the future you that the world awaits to discover.

Thank you. It was special to take a moment to linger then say goodbye and close that chapter. I'm looking forward to what the new parts of my story will entail.

@elameadows you are the queen of metaphor. I love seeing you use your gift to win back your life. Power on!

Thank you so much! It was a poignant little ceremony that held a special meaning and moment for me. The words too, celebrate that new life rather then being stuck in the darkness.

Congratulations @elameadows! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024