Some very Fundamentals on Malware - [Kaspersky Lab]

in #cybersecurity6 years ago (edited)

Resources #122.png


Back in 2012, David Emm, Senior Security Researcher at Kaspersky Lab, was explaining what is collectively called as malware.

He begins by making the distinction of some of the most common threats that come under the umbrella of malware, which are viruses, worms, and trojans. While all of them are qualified as malware, the scope and the mechanism of action of each is quite different.

Since then, malware such as ransomware has began spreading like wildfire on the Internet, the boom of cryptocurrencies allowing for relatively stealthy collection of ransoms to release infected and encrypted information. Anyhow, that's the subject of another video.

If you watch this one, you will be more prepared in facing what we are all exposed to (an ocean of online threats) which will also make you better able to protect and overcome such threats.



To stay in touch with me, follow @cristi


Cristi Vlad Self-Experimenter and Author

Sort:  

very useful information for the antivirus course I'm currently doing, thanks!

which is?

Is there still a risk to use a mac or pc with no antivirus

sure there is. You could do it however, if you are very knowledgeable of how malware could infect you, but I wouldnt advise for that...

Multumesc mult si ce ai recomanda sa folosesc pt mac si pentru pc.

Malwarebytes + Un antivirus (ESET, Kaspersky, etc).

the explanation was quite straightforward and made a lot of sense. Although I would really like to see more about use of malware for DDOS attacks. My reason for it is that I have this suspicion that most of the bandwidth the DDOS attackers use is probably rented rather than stolen.

That's interesting. Why would you suspect that? Since it's so easy to infect and spread malware, why would you think they'd be renting?

Although renting might not be the most anonymous way of doing it but I was actually thinking in terms of time. how long would it take for the requisite amount of machines to be laced with a malware - an amount that could effectively execute a DDOS.
What if I am that I guy and I am working on a limited time frame but with a decent budget. The easiest setup for a large operation would be to go for cheap location, buy mediocre hardware for back end and plug into the rented bandwidth from there and leave it there to do it's magic while I ghost out of there.
I know it's just a theory but somehow I find it a bit inefficient to wait for the right amount of machines to be online at the same time. How long does it takes for me to build a network like that? What if the number is low and the party on the other side becomes aware of my failed attempt and then uses even more precautions?
My suspicions arose from what if somebody is hellbent then they wont't leave it to chance. Maybe I am wrong........who knows.

The video has so simplified the terms so much that even a very beginner can grasp, its a very comprehensive video. However it has been proved that security measures go beyond the use of firewalls and antivirus, if not, then pretty soon. What is the next gen security implication