Cycling in the Dolomites part 3: Refugio Pederu (1548m +)

in #cycling7 years ago

Well dear #cycling enthusiasts, as you could read in my previous cycling post : https://steemit.com/cycling/@arpiwi/cycling-in-the-dolomites-part-2-passo-di-gola-2294m
it seems that not all your plans to do a specific climb or route can be realized in the end.

This is another story from my cycling #adventures in the #dolomites : june 3 2014 Refugio Pederu.

IMG_0114#.JPG

The intention was to climb further from the end of the paved road at the Refugio Pederu (1,548m) over unpaved 'sterrata' to the other Refugio, Fanes (2.060m) and even a kilometre more to the Passo de Limo (2.174m). I came up with the idea because I had watched this MTB route on the website of the Pustertal. I also thought I should do that with my old, stripped Giant Expedition. The first part went very well, not steep at all and already a magnificent landscape (this is not my btw):

IMG_0098#.JPG

IMG_0099#.JPG

IMG_0102.JPG

When I arrived at the Refugio Pederu it was time to locate the unpaved track.... but first enjoying the scenery:

IMG_0104#.JPG

Then I found this sign which wasn't very promising for my initial plans:

IMG_0118.JPG

In english: the upcoming 'roads' are too dangerous and are effectively 'closed'.....

IMG_0107#.JPG

... but hey, I didn't came here to be stopped already, so I ventured further up the footpath. But soon I understood that it was indeed not possible. The 'road' was too inaccessible for my bike because of all the loose rock. Some parts I had to do walking but another 600m further I put a firm foot on the ground.

IMG_0109#.JPG

IMG_0113.JPG

Too bad, so consider buying a real MTB ??. Anyway the climb up to Refugio Pederu (from Longega) is easy for everyone to do: 16km to rise about 525m, that's only 3.2% average. There is a short passage with a 10% grade in the beginning at the village of Mantena. But the scenery is absolutely breathtaking. Here are the final pics:

IMG_0108#.JPG

IMG_0122#.JPG

The location of the refugio: copy/paste into google maps 46.638229, 12.041557

Knipsel location refugio pederu.JPG

If you liked this story and the photo's, please upvote. Thanks people !

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 12:06:18
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Cycling Community on Steemit sends you some good wind!!

You are upvoted and resteemed by Thank You Bicycle - SteemIt Cycling Community!
It is our mission to spread good vibes of cycling across Steemit. We support you!

Keep those wheels rolling and enjoy the ride!!

If you want to know more about our mission click here.
If you want to join us, click here.
If you do not like our activity, reply with STOP to this and we will leave you alone