Earning Garmin Connect Points

in #cyclinglast year (edited)

Screenshot at 2023-03-19 18-01-46.png

Earning Garmin Connect Points

I own an Edge 800 and an Edge 810, an Honor and a Huawei Watch. The Huawei Health ecosystem is always improving, and their devices are excellent and affordable. Garmin devices and the Connect platform have unique benefits too. For example, there are badges and challenges which serve to motivate me. I can accumulate points to elevate my account to higher levels. As you see, I am still just at level 2, but I intend advancing to level 3 very soon.

If I want to add jogging or any other activities which I tracked with my Huawei watch, I sync the activity from the Huawei Health app to Strava using the Health Sync app, then upload the TCX file back into the Garmin system. For others, you may track your run or swim in another way to Strava or another tracking platform. What I discovered recently is that the Garmin ecosystem only rewards points for activities tracked with a Garmin device. I for one, do not appreciate being gamed by the corporation into buying a product. The points are fine to keep me healthy and happy. I chose a different product to wear on my arm. Granted, I can forsake the Connect feature, but should I have to?

Here's my a solution to earn Garmin points for all of those activities which I have rightly earned. In principle, all you need is the TCX file.
Click on one of the images in this post to read the details.

You win!

Unfortunately, I have yet to figure out how to do the same for steps from my Huawei watch, but you may have better luck with your Fitbit or other tracking devices.

Screenshot at 2023-03-19 18-04-17.png

Badges and aiming to achieve a higher level is a fun way to stay motivated and, of course, maintain your fitness, and a healthy mind and body. I suggest you stay up to date with the monthly challenges available in Garmin Connect because Garmin points will often only accumulate to your account if you have joined a challenge.

Sort:  

Interesting post. I have a Garmin 530 and a Garmin watch.
What can you do with the Garmin points?


Upvoted by the Cycling Community
image.png