Walking Around the USA - West Coast Bike Tour: Day 42

in #cycling5 years ago (edited)

Pismo Beach to Santa Barbara.

It was time to head inland for a day. The more arid landscape was awesome to travel through. I even came across my first ever genuine tumbleweed. Lots of long, flat, straight roads. I even had the benefit of a stiff tailwind which helped me cover some solid distance without much exertion on my behalf. The only issue was making a decision about which road to follow. There were busier roads, longer routes, options with more climbing. Going along the coast was simple: one road. This would be my second day in a row of riding over 100 miles (161km) so I was happy to finish up in Santa Barbara where I'd be having a rest day.

Along the way, I bumped into an interesting character. A dude was walking along the side of the highway with a huge backpack and walking pole. I had met a lot of people doing epic sh*t on my journey so decided to pull-over and wait for him to catch up with me so I could ask him about his adventure. His name was John and he was nearing the end of an insane walking voyage around the USA that was over 5,500 miles (9,000km). He was visiting Marines he had served with. We had a quick chat about life on the road and then went our separate ways. I have since connected with him and discovered he has a movie out about his trip (trailer embedded below).

Watch the how my day unfolded here:

Watch the trailer for John's film here:

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thanks for swinging by my post. More adventure content coming soon!

For now, you can follow me @ these places...

Social videos: YouTube.com/josephxkendrick
Social photos: Instagram.com/josephxkendrick
Social training: Strava.com/athletes/josephxkendrick

If you decide to follow me on Steemit, please leave me a comment to let me know so I can check out your page too!

BTC address: 1JeLDZe5SzBFRPfcRMTa8NoPBrehyASrWH

Sort:  

Congratulations @savetheanimals! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 250

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!