Bicycle ride around the Orme

in #cycling7 years ago

The other day I took a bike ride around what is known as the Orme and thought I'd share a few photos.
IMG_1072.JPG!
IMG_1081.JPGIMG_1076.JPG!
IMG_1078.JPG

The castle is Conwy castle and is situated in Conwy on the way to Llandudno. Conwy is a very pretty medieval town and the castle itself was built during the 13th century. I will be writing about this castle in more detail at a later date.
The Orme is situated in Llandudno North Wales, Llandudno is a lovely picturesque town that became popular as a holiday destination during the Victorian era, when the train tracks were built. However there is evidence of settlement/people on the Orme that dates right back to the Mesolithic (the hunter/gatherers) and continues throughout until the present day.
There is a Bronze Age copper mine on the Orme that was extremely important at during the Bronze Age. There are miles and miles of tunnels in the mines, which would have been dug with nothing but stone and bone implements! Disturbingly to the modern person, many are only just big enough to fit a small child.

I hope you enjoyed my post, please upvote if so :)

Sort:  

Absolutely incredible pictures. The goat is by far my favorite. Just standing there staring down at you.

Thank you so much- my daughter usually tells me how rubbish my photos are lol. The goat was cool- I think he was intrigued by what I was doing!!

Well at least she keeps you in line. I have five daughters--they certainly keep me in line.