REFLECTION "2015" NEPAL

in #d7 years ago

image

2015 has been an eventful year for Nepal—from the earthquake, the Tarai-Madhes andolan to the Indian blockade. Stories of Nepal: Reflections is a collection of photo stories from the blog Stories of Nepal by Jay Poudyal that reflects on the past year through personal stories of sorrow, redemption, hope, resilience and life in general from around the country.

“I don’t know why mother had to cut my hair. Everyone calls me a boy now. The boys scream boy, boy, boy when they see me and even the girls scream boy, boy, boy.” (Ranika Pariyaar, Met her in Laxmitole, Butwal)

“I am a simple farmer and I received the most basic education. But the whole situation is very confusing. Now, the government and the big politicians have been saying that they have given every rights to the people of Madhes. Then, there are these Madhesi politicians who refute this and tell us that the government has given us no rights at all. And I sit here and can’t help wonder, where did all the rights disappear in the middle? Who kidnapped the rights? (we both laugh). It is very confusing but let me remind you I am but a simple farmer who got the most basic education.” (Rabindra Kumar Dwivedi, Bahuwari 27, Birgunj)

image

He would follow me to the door every time I left for work and when I returned, he would always come and hug me. I had to feed him or else he wouldn’t eat. I still remember that day very clearly. I was at work and saw my wife come running towards me, screaming with our son in her arms. His hands were suspended in the air, he had been shot in the head and was covered in blood. I rode as fast as I could to take our dying son to the hospital, the police were still firing indiscriminately. When we finally reached, the doctor declared him dead. We are all mourning his loss but she has taken this sorrow to her soul, and won’t talk to us much. Yesterday, our two other children came to her and said, “Ama, we are here for you.” And we all broke down. (Awdesh Kurmi, Bankatawa, Parsa)

“I have spent my life happy. I find things funny and cannot be serious even if I try. There is always something to laugh at. Even during the earthquake, I laughed at how we all think that everything is in our hands. How we humans go about our daily lives and ignore nature. How we think we are all-knowing and how we act like we know the future. But look, I really didn’t know I would be answering your questions today. I would have come prepared. This is really funny.” (Siddhi Bahadur Pradhan, Shyamsadhu, Sindhupalchok)

“We cannot just sit here and wait for the trucks. How long will they take? How many times will they come? I am telling the villagers to stop waiting for relief and take it in their own hands to rebuild our houses. It will take time, it will take a lot of money and people, but it’s not like it cannot be done.” (Tupa Kumari Neupane, Badare Gaun, Bhorle, Rasuwa)

“In the end, there is only one thing that identifies us. In the end, we are all Nepalis. We all die when suffocated and bleed when cut. The earthquake didn’t discriminate. So many people died, of every religion, of every caste, poor or rich, kings or beggars. Who are we to discriminate when nature doesn’t?” (Janga Bahadur Majhi, Gaikhura, Manthali, Ramechap)

“When he left seven months ago, I couldn’t cry in front of my in-laws. So I quietly entered the room, locked the door and wept.” (Meena Mahato, Meghauli, Chitwan)