Dad Tip of the Day: Debunk the Dark

in #dad6 years ago

Dad Tip of the Day: Teach your kids to enjoy the dark through different adventures instead of fear the dark.

I know many people have a fear of the dark, formally known as Nyctophobia.

As a side note, I think many people have developed Cyrptophobia – a fear of opening their cryptocurrency wallets in fear of more losses!

Back to the post – darkness is a natural fear for kids as it relates to unknowns and lack of visibility. Nightlights can help calm kids fears, but a better idea is to help kids not be afraid of the dark. I have done this in a few different ways – playing outside at night with flashlights as well as using fun glow-in-dark toys/glow sticks. Jacob has recently received a glow in the dark train, as well as a glow in the dark puzzle. Here is a picture of the two of us hanging out in his room in the dark working on the puzzle:

55775426-0EF6-4FCD-A8DF-F1C580075088.jpeg

7E0090EC-2E07-4864-9017-94EA72BF7885.jpeg

Getting kids comfortable with the unknown takes many different shapes and forms for many different things. When it comes to the dark, help them understand there is nothing to fear, and the dark can be a lot of fun!

Thank you for stopping by!

Brian

Sort:  

Thank you for posting @brian.rrr.

What a lovely idea......it is a great Dad tip of the Day.

Wishing you and yours all the best. Greetings to your good lady. ^__^

Cheers!

Thank you for the kind words and best wishes @bleujay ... it is always a treat when you stop by! Have a fantastic day!

People will fear to the thing which is uncertain, just like me,myself scare of the future of Crypto.

Will Steemit ten years later?Will what you have is just a digital digits rather than a fiat money?

You are right that the dark can be a lot of fun! Kids can enjoy in the dark with his dad. I think staying alone is the real darkness of life but night dark not harmful for us. It's important for us having a good sleep. Your tips for your kids always highly appreciable.

One of my daughters, when she was around six years old, was afraid of monsters under her sister's bed. I gave her a small device that, when pressed, would make a low noise in my bedroom. If she thought that the monster was there,she would press it and I would enter the only door of their bedroom with a lantern. We would search for the monster, of course we wouldn't find anything and she would sleep in peace. After a few days searching and not finding anything, she dismissed the idea of monsters and gave me back the device...

I love when you write articles related to children, because as I always tell you their experiences are perfect, for parents' schools, I laugh about "Cyrptophobia" 😁😁 The subject of darkness begins since we left lights on, and we make the child notice that it is out of fear or caution, last night my granddaughters were at home doing a pajamas and it turns out that they are all afraid of the darkness that was created by the parents, saying "if you misbehave I lock you in the room dark "or" in the dark the monster is going to come out "I do not agree, it must be done as you advise. making the darkness something friendly and that idea is very effective to put together the bright puzzle or play with flashlights, I congratulate you for your advice so educators for parents who are just released in this wonderful role of dad or mom greetings @ brian.rrr

A great advice I think that many children teach us is to fear the dark, they scare us with it and it is there when that fear starts and do not want to do anything in the dark and you are right this is not bad you have to enjoy it I have given account that in darkness many things are enjoyed, for example you can see the sky with many more stars if everything is dark and that is beautiful

Happy night @brian.rrr

How are you my friend? these techniques are very good that you use to teach your children that darkness is good and they should enjoy it

I think that many of us here did not enjoy it, they always wanted to scare us with the darkness and it should not be like that. The darkness is beautiful. If you want it you can shine many things like the puzzle or a flashlight. The important thing is to have fun and always see the good side of things

what,s good idea alltime sharing dad tip of the day.its very different thung for child. i am fully agree with yout opinion. darkness is a natural fear for kids and its related unknowns and lack of visibility. its helps doing for child unknown thing knowing and not to be afraid to dark.its obviously right help to understand there is nothing to fear,creating alots of fun of kids. The important thing is to have fun and always see the good side of things.thanks to sharing for your great thought post.very well done.my best wishes for you and your happy family.thank you.. my dear friend.. @brian.rrr

I use to be afraid when I was little but my parents told me I had a guardian spider outside my window protecting me

You know what @brian.rrr , i am sure that this is a wonderful idea, and i swear that i will try with my son to.
I am a new father, and i think to start writing a couple story, by Steemit, about this intersting work than we have!

Interesting. This is really an idea that I will try playing with kids in the dark, because I know that kids are really afraid of the dark.

Welcome.
I am a Fish-bot that supports fishing posts.
Thank you for publishing the post and use of the myhuntingfishing,fishing or pl-wedkarstwo tag, which I rewarded with "upvote".
If you care about the development of this bot, all you need is to like this comment, and the power of this fish-bot will grow. Thank you
Witaj.
Jestem Rybo-botem wspierającym tag pl-wedkarstwo i myhuntingfishing
Dziękuje Ci za opublikowanie posta i użycia tagu pl-wedkarstwo lub myhuntingfishing oraz fishing, który nagrodziłem "upvoutem". Jeśli będzie Ci zależało na rozwoju tego rybo-bota wystarczy byś w rewanżu "upwoutował" czyli polubił ten komentarz a moc tego rybo-bota będzie rosła. Dziękuje
Добро пожаловать
Я рыба-бот, который поддерживает рыболовные посты.Спасибо за Ваше сообщение и использование тегов pl-wedkarstwo, fishing или myhuntingfishing который является наградой «upvoutem ». Если вы заботитесь о развитии этого рыцаря, все, что вам нужно сделать, это «взволноваться» в матче-реванше, то есть, как этот комментарий, и сила этого fisboot будет увеличиваться. спасибо

977ed90d51b801891e07b99740d68a9e.gif

A practical advice, it is so important to find a way to guide our children and motivate them to confront the fears.

I love all the effort and love that you put to raise your children, safe and with love, Blessings!

Fear and all that is perception exactly! Never letting your kids fall to the negative stereotype of the dark would work wonders :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting . Your advice is very good .
I hope this advice is helpful for every children .
Thanks for sharing your advice @brian.rrr

yes very good advice , also don't pass your fears onto your kids , I hate spiders but tried to be brave when he was younger , now he just picks them up for me and puts them outside for !

The game helps the child to overcome his fear of the dark, in the same way the routines that contribute to the good sleep of the children also help to reduce the nocturnal fears can be (that begins with a bath and a story), you can also avoid the things that increase fear.
Do not make fun of your fear or belittle it. It is also not appropriate to force him to do something he does not want in the dark, even if it is with the supposed purpose of overcoming his fears, or threatening him with the possible punishment of locking him in the dark in his room.
On the contrary, we must congratulate him for his gestures of courage. This demonstration of affection will propel you to overcome your fear of the dark. I have practiced it with my nephews and it really helps to do it. Blessings

Being a dad its your responsibility.....keep your kids guessing and switch it up on them it comes to play..kids need new..being a dad can positively influence both their children and their own lives....great efford sir...your children is so cute and intelligent...and your looking so handsome....thanks for sharing.

Thank you for sharing tips for fatherhood @brian.rrr I enjoy reading them 😊

Really great tips for your kids. I like your beautiful tips.