Honey :: Daily and Fresh πŸ“· (47/366)

in #dailyandfresh β€’ 4 years ago (edited)

Hey!

I created this photo for the upcoming Hive!

It was worth it! 😎 Even as I had to first search the whole day for the honey spoon (Finglish for "hunajalusikka", "honey dipper"), then to set up a makeshift studio for it in the kitchen. Vera helped me with the props as I clicked the shutter.

I hope Hive likes it! πŸ™‚

Speaking of Hive, I would really find it fitting if the token on the blockchain would be called "Honey" or "Nectar", depending on whether it is powered up, or liquid.
In Finland, we have an idiom "maksaa hunajaa", which means that something is so expensive it costs honey.

The photo was taken with my Canon 550D and the 50mm Sigma Art 1.4 at F2.2, using a tripod and an external flash.

Here's the honey I bought for the same photoshoot:

It was weird that none of the shops that used to have honey dippers, now didn't have them. I had to spend a good part of the day hunting them all around Lahti. Eventually I did find one, at a flee market.

Since the dipper itself was more or less out of focus (too wide aperture), I am going to have to try this set up again one of these days. But at least the honey is in focus. 🀣
Anyhow, I'm hungry, gonna eat and then read to the boys. We are now reading Earth Sea by Ursula le Guin.

See you Tomorrow!




Like my post? 🍻 Buy me a beer! 🍻

Sort: Β 

One question is arround in my mind that why the spoon of honey is design like that, but it is quite pretty good looking!

Posted using Partiko Android

"Dipper" I think, is a bit more appropriate name for this tool, but in Finland we call it a honey spoon for some reason.

The design is like that to easily dip vertically into a pot of honey, and then turn it sideways to drip it into tee or whatever you want to sweeten with the honey. I really have no idea if it's an efficient design or not, but it looks cool.

Now! This photo makes me hungry for honey!
No need for a dipper here! I’ll use a spoon!! Yummy!

Nice pic. I am going to experiment more with the honey pictures - til the bees come out.

Btw, you have some awesome comments here :D

this might be my fave:

image.png

Β 4 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

Thanks! I still need to practice my honey shots a bit.

I've been wondering if the blockchain is broken or something. I rarely see comments from my regular visitors anymore, and when I get comments, they are like these 5 carbon copy accounts.

A while ago I saw quite a many commenters say: "Brelent" and nothing else. I don't know what "brelent" means, but it seems to be a popular word for some reason.

Lol, guessing it means brilliant, or it could be a hair cream.

Have you got an off camera flash? it is worth playing around with it if you have :)

"Brilliant" maybe... I'll ask about it next time around.

Yep, I placed the flash on the left side and bounced it from the ceiling on this one.
I do need a second flash, two new triggers and a reflector though.

Photography is so expensive.

Photography is so expensive.

Tell me about it... though I have been very good at not spending in the last few years. The trick is - don't have any money.

Try playing with a more direct flash, to add deeper contrast rather than more fill - just for fun :)

Nice post πŸ”­

interesting post in understanding 🍯.

honey water is very delicious, how many bottles by one but not imitations or kw

🍯 delicious honey.

Good post

Yay!
Your post has been boosted with ESTM. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem