Daily Devotional for July 20

in #dailydevotion8 years ago

Devotional Scripture

Proverbs 21:7-8 (AMP):
7 The violence of the wicked shall sweep them away, because they refuse to do justice.
8 The way of the guilty is exceedingly crooked, but as for the pure, his work is right and his conduct is straight. 

Thought for the Day

Verse 7 - Because the wicked know what is right but refuse to do it, their own violence will sweep them away. Those who live by violence perish by it. Everyone reaps what he sows (Galatians 6:7-9). Whatever we "plant" will grow to produce a crop. When we choose to follow our old nature (sow to our flesh), our words and actions produce no lasting benefits and lead to death. If we choose to walk (or sow) to the Spirit, our words and actions will produce life and eternal reward. If we invest in God's work, one of our rewards will be that we will get to meet people in heaven whom we helped to know the Lord. This passage also tells us not to be weary in well doing, for we will reap in time, if we faint not.

Satan tries to discourage us when we see the wicked prosper and it seems that our prayers are unanswered. But we must keep our eyes on Jesus and His promises, not our circumstances. That is what faith is: believing God's truth and not allowing Satan to rob our confidence in Him. "I have seen the wicked in great power, and spreading himself like a green bay tree. Yet he passed away, and, lo, he was not: yea, I sought him, but he could not be found. Mark the perfect man, and behold the upright: for the end of that man is peace" (Psalm 37:35-37).

Verse 8 - Those who are crafty are always looking for ways to cover up their wrongs. Their ways are convoluted and shifty. Honest people are straightforward, without pretense. Their work is exactly what it is supposed to be; there is no trickery. Man is crooked by nature. We all try to hide our sins and mistakes. We cannot change until we receive God's forgiveness. Upon receiving Jesus into our hearts, we become pure in God's sight. All the privileges of God's children become available to us. The Holy Spirit purifies our thinking. We no longer desire our old life. The evil we once loved, we now hate. It is a wonderful miracle that God can make us pure and good like Himself!

Psalm 32:10 tells us that the wicked will have many sorrows, but those who trust in God will be surrounded by mercy. The last verse of Psalm 23 also speaks of mercy, and has always blessed me: "Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life..." I used to wonder why this scripture spoke of goodness and mercy as following, rather than as leading us. The Lord showed me that goodness and mercy are always behind us to catch us and pick us up when we fall. When do we need God's goodness and mercy? After we have made a mistake and fallen down. When we trust God, He is right there to help us up so that we can continue to walk with Him. God goes before us and is behind us and on every side. How great is His love for us!

Prayer Devotional for the Day

Dear Father in heaven, I love You so much. You have been so good to me. Thank you for Your mercy and goodness to me over the years. I have not deserved Your great patience with me, but I am thankful that You were there for me every time I fell down and every time I failed You. Thank you for picking me up and forgiving me and washing me clean so I could start again on that narrow path where my careless feet went astray. Help me to be merciful, like You, to those in my life who need Your mercy through me. Give me grace not only to forgive them, but to love them as You have loved me. I ask this in the name of Your precious son, Jesus. Amen.