You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dash of Sult N Papper 04/19/20> Organized Crime and Criminal Mischief….H’mmm.

in #dailydose4 years ago

You know how I feel about 'search and seizure'. Makes me crazy, and you are utterly correct: It's a criminal activity. I really like the way you connected the dots here.

It got me thinking about what an ordinary 'citizen' can do about it. Then I got to thinking about the statutes, codes and laws.

Laws are never, ever, written with the intent to stop crime. They are written with the intent to make the penalties stern enough to make the general population not seriously consider the activities. They want to take the 'profit motive' out of 'criminal activity'. IE: You rob a bank and get $240,000. Even if you manage to get the entire pile hidden but get caught for the crime you will do 20 years. You could have made the same or more working at McDonalds. Profit motive.

I'd guess the tow companies would be the 'weak link' in vehicle seizure. I've got a lawyer friend that has a bit of a nasty streak and I think I'll discuss this with her. See if there's anything useable in that action. You can borrow money from the guy on the corner for a better rate than you can get from a tow company 'storing' your car. Should be regulated like the title loan industry...

Thanks Sult. I believe you've hit a homer here.

Sort:  

When you discuss that with your lawyer friend make sure to stress that the vehicle is "legally parked" even though it was the result of the "traffic stop". I think that is key in the scenario. I have seen and know folks that this exact situation with the traffic stop occurred. There was no justifiable reason for the tow and the "fees"ended up being $400 for them to get their car back for less than 72 hours in the storage lot.

But if they had just pulled up; parked their car in that same spot and walked away from it that car could have sat there for days before anyone, including a cop, would have even paid any attention to it.

The "laws" ( codes and statutes) are all about profit motive for sure and not only to keep the general population from considering doing some crimes but to raise revenues for the government, the government stands to profit very greatly from a lot of "crimes" that have no real victim. That little court house by me does over $12 million a year in "traffic fines" based on a quick study I did one year. That number was based on the court being a 40 week year and not a 52 week year.
I' m glad this prompted you to do some thinking, that is really what I try to do, get people to think about things. We need to start challenging things and thinking is the first step in that process.
Please let us know after you talk with her, I'd be curious to know what she says.

Thanks for the continued support, very much appreciated!
Sult