You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 12/16/18> Looks like I am stuck… are you?

in #dailydose5 years ago

Howdy sir sultnpapper! A windows 7! lol...have you thought of upgrading? At some point they'll force you to I'm sure but I like windows 7, one of our machines still runs it. I don't trust the new tvs, I don't know how they watch you but I've heard that, do they have a small camera like the laptops and PC's?

Sort:  

The laptop I draw with has Windows 98 on it, so I have upgraded. That laptop doesn't even have wireless capability so I never even go on the internet with it.
I would shit can it but that drawing program is no longer available and I still love working with it. In fact the original computer I had it on the screen died, the machine would power up but display nothing.
A friend suggest I go on Goodwill.com and look at their auctions, he said he would damn near guarantee that I could find that same exact computer on there and by it for less than $20 with shipping. He was right, I paid $5.00 for the computer and $12 and change for the shipping from a Goodwill store in El Paso.
When Goodwill sells computers the pull the hard drive out so they come without one unless they strip them and re-furbish the entire unit. This one came without the hard drive, all I had to do was take the hard drive from my dead one and put it in the one I got from them and plugged it in. Worked like a charm and the whole computer damn near was in new condition for a 15 year or older computer at the time.
The screen has since cracked and I can still use it but it has a big black area I have to work around. In fact I need to go back on Goodwill and see if I can find another now that I am talking about it, thanks for making me even think of it, I have gotten so use to the black spot I never even give it a thought. Pretty soon (maybe even now) I probably won't be able to even find an old model like that.
My understanding is they do have a small camera, some are nearly the size of a ball point pen tip where the ink comes out. That is how small they can make those things, just like when we were kids and the spy shows on TV were showing the spies using.

howdy again sir sultnpapper! wow that is a place I've never thought of looking, goodwill.com. I might have to check that out or have the Mrs. do it, she's a penny pincher thank God. lol. I guess when we buy a new tv we gotta research and see if we can find where the camera is and cover it. hey you can't be spending all this time talking to people! you can't be working today right? lol.

I am on vacation now finally, until the 2nd of January.

oh very good sir sultnpapper, you deserve a good, long break!