A Dash of Sult N Papper 04/18/20> What will it be like under military occupation here in the USA?

in #dailydose4 years ago

image.png

The title of...

The titled of this Dash is really a question that needs to be asked. President tRump is the commander and chief of the military and recently he and some others sent troops, boats, and aircraft recently to defend our southern border so there is no doubt about it that we are at war.

My question to...

My question to you is can you really trust that the men and women currently in the armed services have ever read the constitution? Could it be beyond the realm possibility that those same men and women will actually fire their weapons on the people of this country?

If you answered that they wouldn’t fire on the people you need to think again.

Back in the ...

Back in the 1970’s at a small college in Ohio named Kent State University there was a “peaceful Vietnam war protest” taking place on the campus there.

Young people didn’t like the fact that they were being drafted to go fight a senseless war in a foreign country and were demonstrating their discontent with the situation.

I don't recall...

I don’t recall the governor of Ohio’s name at the time and I’m not going to bother looking it up, his name isn’t important to the story. What he did do though was very important; he mobilized the Ohio National Guard , a military reserve unit of the national army to go break up the protest.

The outcome of that order by the governor ended up with four students dead and nine wounded when dust and gun smoke had settled.

The Ohio National guardsmen didn’t seem to have any problem whatsoever pulling their triggers on those students that day. Since the nation was technically “at war” some say that the governor was justified in ordering the troops to restore the “peace” on the campus.

Just know that we are at war right now, and if you think it couldn’t happen, it already has in our history.

There a lot...

There are a lot of unknowns right now with COVID19 situation, and we are getting more restless everyday as this goes on.

I heard on the radio that nationwide protests are being organized and some taking place today. I am all for people expressing their dissatisfaction with the current situation, I’ve even advocated for civil disobedience recently.

But civil disobedience doesn’t mean throwing rocks and bottles at the “law” enforcement folks some of who may end up being national guardsmen.

So just to be clear "civil disobedience" consists of two word; civil and disobedience. Act civil and go ahead and disobey their orders, remain in honor as a man.

Sure , they will...

Sure, they will arrest you, but just remember when you are to appear in court that you are an “idiot”. The judge and the prosecutor know the rules and the meaning of the word “idiot” so you will be home in no time and free to do it all again if you desire.

Those National Guard folks I wouldn’t want to take any chances with.

Throwing rocks and bottles at them didn’t work out to well for those college kids back in Ohio and I don’t have any reason to believe the folks wearing those uniforms are any different today than those who wore them in the 1970’s.

I almost forgot...

I almost forgot to answer the main question; what will it be like under military occupation here in the USA?

It will be just like it always has been since the 1860’s.

Until next time,
Sult

Sort:  
Two of the students killed at Kent State were not involved in the protest, but were merely changing classes at the time. For them, it was a classic case of wrong timing. I was in High School with plans to attend college when this happened, so the event really hit home and made me wonder whether attending college was safe or not. Many people applauded the deaths of the 'hippie thugs' who refused to obey the conservative principles of "The System" that was in place.

You are absolutely correct about those two, but they still died. Which even goes to show just how poorly the Ohio National Guard was trained.
I was in high school at that same time as you and it was something I will never forget seeing on the news. It is un-American that our armed forces would fire on "civilians", and a direct violation of the constitution.
Thanks for weighing in and pointing out that some of the deaths were innocent bystanders.
Sult

"Tin Soldiers and Nixon Coming
Last summer I heard the drumming
Four dead in Ohio. " Crosby, Stills, Nash and Young 1971

You better believe it can happen. I know they hung some shavetail Lieutenant out to dry for the deal, but who was the fucking genius that decided live ammo would be a good idea at that time? It's way above LT pay grade, I can guarantee that.

My friend Erv is also a novelist. His current (and maybe permanently stalled) project is a continuation of his previous book that centers around the President not relinquishing the office after being beat at the polls. The upheaval and carnage in that scenario is brutal.

I was a protestor at that time. I know this will surprise you, but there was this girl that absolutely convinced me that it was the right thing. The fear was palpable and real. The amazing thing is that the demonstrations went on, and a lot of people with deep convictions took part. I just followed the girl. I haven't seen her since 1971 when I tried to explain why and how I came to join the Navy.

Yes. It can and possibly will happen again. Damn.

I had forgotten all about that song, thanks for jarring my memory on that. That shooting actually started the downward spiral of the Nixon presidency it seems like in my mind.

I have no military background so I wouldn't know at what pay grade decisions like that, to have live ammo, are made so I'll defer to your expertise since you have the military background in your resume.

Talk about about an "about face", to go from war protester to the enlisted man? You shattered that poor girl's world I'm sure.

Sadly, I think you are correct, "it can and possibly will happen again."

Thanks for weighing in today, very much appreciated.
Sult