A Dash of Sult N Papper 04/30/20> This is more of “hit and run” than a Dash…

in #dailydose4 years ago

image.png

What day is...

What day is this? That was the first question on my mind when I woke up this morning; the days are just all running together for me right now. Between trying to work from home and keeping up the pace on the @bropoker Team Up tournament I kid you not when I say I am burned out.

Friday marks our...

Friday marks our youngest boy’s eighteenth birthday and as luck would have it nothing has gone in his favor this year. The last seventeen years we have celebrated his birthday with a dinner at our favorite Mexican restaurant but this year it is “take out only” since the virus has things shut down.

The government is...

The government is “allowing” some restaurant to open on Friday but only at 25% capacity. You can tell that these government folks no nothing about the restaurant business.

Friends of mine in the business tell me that until they can be at least at 50% capacity they will have to stick to carry out only. There is a lot of add expense opening the dining area of restaurants as opposed to just carryout. That additional 25% of capacity would justify opening the dining area.

So I imagine...

So I imagine it will be Mexican to go and we’ll make the best of it. His high school graduation has been “postponed” and his summer mission trip has been cancelled. Their high school church group has canceled all their “in person” meetings and now are on Zoom, so much for interacting with his friends as their high school days wind down.

Oh, the county...

Oh, the county judge and the Houston mayor got put in “their place” by the Texas governor. So I don’t have that face mask money to look forward too. I did go to the grocery store yesterday and I was the only person without a mask except for a delivery driver stocking the bread racks, he gave me a big smile and a thumbs up.

The poker tournament...

The poker tournament standings still has our team holding first place but we are starting to get some heat from the second place team. I also have slipped down to second place in the individual standings but there is still a long ways to go before this is over. I can tell you this much, 14 hours a day of poker is just a “tad” to much but as long as I am able I’m going to push on.

Ya’ll have a great day.
Until next time,
Sult

Sort:  

Wish your son a Happy Birthday for me.

I know what you mean about the days running together. I got a call earlier from someone asking me if they could stop by and pick up some paperwork tomorrow. I answered that depends on what day tomorrow is. I honestly forgot.

I have taken to setting an alarm on my phone for 15 minutes before the trash comes on Mondays and Thursdays because I can't afford to miss having the trash picked up. With six of us we can surely generate some garbage in just a few days and I missed one day a while back, it wasn't pretty, I can tell you that.

I will pass those birthday along to "A-man", you are one of his favorite poker players, as he puts it "Chops is the most disciplined player I've ever seen." He wants to know the "316" part of your avatar? John 3:16?

Disciplined is a nice way of saying it. Not having a broad range of hands I can play successfully is probably more accurate. A man has to know his limitations.

The "316" is in a way related to John 3:16, really just because you used to see a lot of John 3:16 signs at sporting events. I know what the verse is, but I'm not actively promoting. When it comes to religion I have a "to each his own" philosophy. Personally I just try to be a good dude.

My son figured that was the case with 316 and A-man( my son) said he would bet 10 to 1 so I'm glad I did wager with him. I had a feeling that was case but a lot of people use their area code and such.
Thanks for the support!
Sult

I realize it's a day early, but a profound Happy Birthday to your son! How do I know it's Thursday? It's garbage day. That was easy. Now if Sam can remember to take the garbage to the curb we'll be set.

Man, if I played Poker 14 hours a day it would foul my nap schedule. That might be problematic.

I'm not surprised that your 'judge' got swatted. Clearly punching above her weight class, even if you disregard the entire question in the first place.

And just for the record, politicians really have no clue about business and how it works except for the money that flows to their campaigns if they take the correct actions according to said businesses. When the money stops they will take different actions. That was also easy.

Nice to have an easy day on my most hectic day of the week. Thank you!

I kid you not, it might be even more than 14 hours some days. The games start at 9:00 am my time and there is one basically every 90 minutes, the last one starts 10:30 pm so it is after midnight if you finish in the to 4 or 5. In some cases I have been having to play to games at once if I am lucky enough to be around at the end of one game while the second has kicked off.
My eyes and brain have trouble keeping up when in those situations, especially if one game is Texas Hold 'Em and the other game is Omaha or Hi-Lo. My brain and fingers just don't work that fast.
I have gone to setting an alarm on my phone for trash days, 15 minutes before they normally pick up. That was my solution for that problem.
Time to get started, both work and poker, are calling.
Thanks for the continued support and I will pass along those birthday wishes.
Sult

I know what you mean with the days running into each other, every day's been a Saturday here for the past 5 weeks! We're free tomorrow but with many restrictions, it may not even be worthwhile going anywhere; still no cigarettes on sale nor alcohol, cloth masks have to be worn in public places etc etc! My youngest son has the opposite view to my older son on the way the governments are handling this virus and it's starting to happen; they're killing people before the virus even gers to them with mass unemployment abd hunger! Things are going to be even tougher in the months ahead.
Take care though when you're out and about!

Well it proves one thing, (this virus) is that people can't think for themselves any longer. The governments will find a way no matter what to keep us under their thumb.
I person who gives up his liberty for safety deserves neither , that is quote from someone in our history here but I can't think who right now. It might not be "word for word" but it's close.
Thanks for dropping by and stay safe!
Sult