A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/14/20> Final thoughts and some not so good news.

in #dailydose4 years ago

image.png

I hope ya'll...

I hope ya’ll enjoyed the Family Traditions contest as much as I did. By far that was the best contest I’ve run since I started doing contests. When I decided to do that contest I wasn’t sure how it would play out. It had a decent prize pool, but unlike my other contests, it did require some effort to have a shot at getting a piece of the advertised prizes.

There were some great family traditions shared in that contest and to me that is important, the sharing of information.

Today I want...

Today I want to especially thank @eve66 for sending me that video link to see how Hallacas are made.

I watched all three parts to that process and the young lady narrating the video did a superb job in describing the process and the tradition behind that dish. It is very understandable to me now why so many entries from Venezuela featured the Christmas tradition of Hallacas.

I'm really glad...

I’m really glad the contest turned out well because it might be a while until I run another contest. My funding mechanism for prize pool funds has made some changes and it has become difficult to even have chance to secure some funds.

If more of you who read the Dash would get involved in playing poker over at www.brosinopoker.com I might be able to continue on funding these contests.

Hell; if you are a good poker player you could be funding your own contests like I have but you have to play in order to win.

Don’t panic at the thought of losing your own money or HIVE either, it is free to play and you can’t deposit anything in your account over there. The worst case is that you could make some new friends and actually win some HIVE. That’s a pretty good worst case scenario wouldn’t ya say?

If participation doesn’t pick up over there it will probably end up drying up and blowing away. That would be a real shame too. Poker is one of the few games that I enjoy playing online. It would have been another one of our family traditions I could have shared with ya’ll too.

Growing up we had a family poker night usually once a week. Each player started with 100 pennies from the penny jar and when you lost all your pennies you became a watcher of the game instead of a player. You really can learn about your opponents from observing them play when you are not involved with thinking about how to play your cards if you were in the hand.

This is my last Dash about family traditions and the contest; time to get back to trying to inform folks with truth and knowledge with some Dashes. Tomorrow we’ll do some HIVE giveaway and little housekeeping then hopefully it will be business as usual around here.

Ya’ll have a great day.

Until next time,
Sult

Sort:  

When I was young and poor I learned to play poker in strict limit games. Maybe $10 maybe $20 or so, but there was no more. A couple of bad choices and you could be home in time to watch the 9:00 pm shows. Not so much fun as standing tall to the last... A fifty cent bet was bulling the game :)

I'll probably stop into a game in the not too distant future. I haven't played much on line and not even off line in a while, but I'm thinking it's like riding a bike.

I can afford it, for sure. Not sure if I can afford any more friends but probably :)

I grew up in a "pot limit bet" house so it was fairly mild on bet sizes. My parents were sticklers on teaching the game to be played right. That served me very well back when I spend about two years over in the Memphis, TN area. There was a beer joint over on Brooks Rd. in Memphis that was a 24/7 place. I played a lot of pool in there and the owner would have a poker game at his townhouse on the first and third Wednesday nights.
It was a nickle ante / pot limit game.
You could only play with the money you had on the table, no reaching back into your wallet for more. There would be guys show up there with 2,000 or more. I would only bring 500 at the most. The biggest one hand pot I ever won was just over 3,000 in a seven card stud game.
I had pocket queens and on the the flop it came AQQ. I slowed played it and let the Ace holders (two guys) drive the bus on betting, and would just make the "call". One round of betting, and the next card was a low card, the "bus driver" had pocket aces and he was pretty proud of those. I made the call on his bet, the other guy dropped out.
I remember him looking at me and he said, "Looks like it is just me, and the bear now".
Nothing changed as the hand played out and I was praying that guy who dropped out had an ace in his hand and he did. The look on that the guys face when he flipped that boat over was really proud, he started to reach for the pot.
"Wait just a second there partner, my ladies have something to say about this, all four of them". The guy about shit himself right there.
That was some hand and I will never forget that look on his face. I'm still smiling as I type this.

Do join and see; if anything you'll help keep the games going, but I have a feeling you are a "player" who won't have any trouble getting back up to speed.
Thanks for the support,
Sult

That was a really nice contest Sult, brought back such good memories for many of us and it was interesting to see some of the traditions and also to hear that although we live in different parts of the world, some of those are shared traditions!
Hope the online poker picks up again!

Yes, it seems that this world has been well connected with each other previously and the internet just came about and made it a little easier. Some traditions are nearly world wide, but have their own little twists in certain areas.
Thanks for the well wishes, and sign your husband up to play poker. I know you don't have a spare moment but he might.
Sult

I'm sorry to hear participation is down in the online poker tournaments! I know how much you enjoy that. It seems to me participation is slipping lately on Hive as well. I see a lot of people trying hard to promote it on Twitter and I hope things begin to turn around. Engagement usually spikes when the currency value rises, let's hope this happens soon!

The core group of players are really good and respectful of each other and the game and those types of "poker sites" are few and far between so I really do enjoy playing at this one. The fact that I was able to win HIVE and fund the contests I put on was just an added bonus.
I would have to think that some more folks in VZ and South Africa would be jumping at the chance to play and win HIVE instead of sitting in discord channel chat rooms and earning nothing doing it. Hopefully both the price on HIVE and the traffic will pick up, then it will trickle down to the poker site, if it is still around.
Have a great weekend Eric and be safe,
Sult

Thank you for taking the time to view the video.

Hallacas have a special taste of family and love, it is a Christmas tradition.

The banana leaf gives a unique flavor to the dough. The stew prepared with pork, chicken, capers, olives, raisins is unique.

Thank you very much.

Happy day.

I actually watched all three of the series and learned a lot from it. We actually have some banana trees but our trees leaves don't seem like they would be big enough in size to try and make some of our own. You never know though, I have done crazier things before when it comes to cooking things.

The banana leaves are cut and smoked over a fire. When they come into contact with the flame, they darken in colour, become soft and do not break and are flexible when bent.
Then they are cut and washed in water in the direction of the veins of the leaves so that they do not break.
The leaves are oiled by painting them with onoto before placing the dough.

They cut into 30x30 squares
and in 20x20 squares
and a strip of about 15x20

It is a dish that has many secrets.

I learned from my grandmother.

Yes, our banana trees leaves don't get nearly that big to get 30 x 30 squares out of them. I would have to make miniature hallacas if I ever tried making them at home using our leaves.
I caught on to the vein direction of the leaves from the video, the slightest crack in the leaves will let the water in and ruin it.
Really a great tradition, I'm sure you will pass it on to your children too.

If I don't answer right away it's because we have problems with the electricity, since it's raining hard and they cut it off.
o
sometimes we don't have internet

I am hit and miss on here, it all depends on how my day is going. No worries on timeliness of replies , when they happen they happen.