You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dash of Sult N Papper 04/15/20> Rest his soul… Abe Lincoln.

in #dailydose4 years ago (edited)

Well the war ended and both sides agreed to end the fighting in an "armistice" because when they sat down and figured out that neither side had the funds to pay back the bonds and figured they probably wouldn't collectively have it the time frame they agreed to "not end " it but cease fighting. That way England couldn't just "re-po" the country.
I did know about the Irish and that side of history, my father was 100% full Irish, so I grew up hearing all to often those stories. You can bet the bank the "potato famine" was orchestrated to supply more bodies at a cheap wage and higher price.
I don't know about the FDR and Lend Lease deal in much detail so I can't say if he even considered that on trading some of the bonds in exchange, chances are he didn't or it didn't extinguish much if he did.
I've already quit paying "income tax" so April 15 is just another day, just like July 15, or August 15.
Speaking of days, April 26 is coming up soon. You might recall I proclaimed that day as "National Hemi Day" in honor of the Mopar 426 Hemi engine. I am thinking of running a photo contest in honor of it, so if you have any photos of Hemi engines or old muscle cars with Hemi engines you might want to start digging those out.
Thanks for the support,
Sult