You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dash of Sult N Papper 07/16/2020> Reading the news of March 7, 1861… and Corvettes.

in #dailydose4 years ago

I was pretty certain in my mind knowing that you had the Navy background that you would know about the name Corvette. My father in law knew it when I mentioned it to him. he was in the Korean war serving in the Navy.
In talking to my sister she confirmed I was right about her and her husband, neither knew anything about the name and history of the name.
There is definitely a lot of revisionist history so it is always best when you can to go back and read what the media at the time had to say about it when it was actually happening. With that said, it might not serve the people 200 years from now knowing that media is all government controlled now through a handful of companies owning all the major media outlets.
Thanks for the great comment and ongoing support.
Sult

Sort:  

Ha. I have a good friend that joined the Marines due to Navy duty on a Corvette. When he got out of boot camp just after Korea he was assigned to a DE on picket duty in the Gulf of Alaska. After 6 months of that he took his first time on land to find a Marine recruiter and changed horses. He said he was so sick and battered by the North Pacific storms that getting shot at occasionally seemed a good trade!