You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Dash of Sult N Papper 07/29/20> A-Man gets anointed …Noah gets exposed to Sult and the Pappers.

in #dailydose4 years ago

Without question or hesitation Mexican restaurant is a "family tradition" in my book. Just doing some quick math in my head we've celebrated over 100 birthdays combined at that one little place in the 26 years we've been married. Not to mention other things like fathers day , anniversaries, and Cinco DeMayo.
The Cinco celebration wasn't so much for the "day" but in remembrance of the other restaurant that burned down. That in and of itself has been a family tradition. I can still picture in my mind that Sunday afternoon when we saw the billowing black smoke from the fire and decided to go see what was burning. We lived a good four or five miles from the place so you know the smoke meant the fire was big in order for us to see it.
We were able to make our way over there and were devastated to the see the place fully engulfed and the volunteer fire dept couldn't really do anything to put it out. Luckily no one was hurt. It started as a kitchen fire and being a wood frame building it didn't take long to spread.
I am sure you've seen the movie "Bad News Bears" and would probably remember the kid doing the cartwheel across home plate to score a run. A-Man decided he would re-enact that episode and I had warned him ahead of time that he better not. Well he did and it probably wouldn't have been a big deal but for the fact that I was the home plate umpire and the catcher was well out the way of A-Man to just cross the plate running in to score.
But he did that "cartwheel" move and plowed into the catcher with his follow through of the cartwheel. He spend the last two innings in the bleachers sitting and watching the game with his mother.
If he hadn't of taken the catcher down with his antics, I would have just disciplined him at home for his going against what I had told him. The crying catcher was the straw that broke this old camel.
Smarting off to the umpire is a another family tradition....
Sult

Sort:  

Ahahahahaha Can't blame the kid for trying :)

My Dad said he was catching a game in Sprague (a notorious homer ump) and he turned around to inquire (politely I am sure) about a missed strike call. The Umpire replied "That's the way they call 'em on TV." Dad watched the rest of that game from the local tavern...

So. I guess smarting off to the umpire is a family tradition for me, too.