My Comfort Food #1

What's a comfort food?

According to Wikipedia, comfort food is 'food that provides nostalgic or sentimental value to someone'. This term traced back to at least 50 years ago and is believed to be a great coping mechanism to soothe negative feelings. Psychologically, comfort food may be consumed to reduce stress and feel better.

Recently, I caught myself going to the same place every time for supper. Its always the same place until a close friend of mine would ask me, 'AGAIN?' Yes, again. However, it wasn't because I was depressed every time that it made me keep coming back for the food, but I realized be it on my good days, or bad, I'd crave for it all the time. Especially in my rough days, when I went to grab a bite, I feel a little better.

Food can't solve ALL your problems, people.

So what is my favorite food(which also happens to be my comfort food)? Well, it's.....

photo_2018-02-13_01-21-09.jpg

Dosai / Thosai!!

Yes, I keep coming back to this and always feel a little better after eating it (going home with a happy tummy too). So Dosai is actually an Indian dish and it is a type of pancake made from fermented batter. Its key ingredients are rice and black grams and yes, it looks like a crepe!

When I first tried Dosai, I didn't really like it because it has a little sour taste to it. But after trying it out the second time, I realized it was delicious especially when it is paired with dhal (dried, split pulses like lentils, beans and peas)! Not only that, I found out that there's actually some health benefits in eating fermented food like this dish! Sounds weird? Well if you'd like to know more, you can find out in this page here!

For those of you who hadn't tried Dosai yet, go try it!! Maybe you're not used to it at first bite, but hey, at least you get to try it ;) I never even expected this dish could be my comfort food too haha xD

So what's YOUR comfort food? And do you LOVE supper as much as I do?
Till next time!

.

.

.

Ahfrina Curry House Special
Jalan Damai Luyang Commercial Centre
Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Open 24 hours

Sort:  

My comfort food is sang nyuk mian :3

hahaha ooohh i love sang nyuk mian too :'D

Omg! I love my thosai too. Ghee Thosai is my favorite and too sometimes crave for it.

Aaahh my thosai buddyyyyy :'D Hahaha i like roti susu too :3 I just like mamak shops hahahaha

comfort foood isssssssss:
2 half boiled omega eggs!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
actually i really do craved for eggs every single morning hehe.

there was one time the comfort food is.
roti canai kosong :D

Hahahaha wahhh xD first time i hear someone's love for eggs! But its good too and healthy! We can eat more of it now but not next time xD

Yessssss
Aging and hitting my cholesterol quota really soon!!! 😭

This is the second time you'll hear this tho! I LOVE EGGS!!!!