You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mama's One batch Bread Dough - Threeways

I do love breads like this. Lord, this looks yummy. I've never used a bread machine. (Well, I've never used one successfully.) I've heard good things about them but they've always intimidated me for some reason.

Also ... we were given one years ago, and when I finally got around to trying it, it didn't work. The whole thing was a mess. We wasted two batches of ingredients. (Thinking we must have done something wrong the first time, we tried again -- just to be sure.)

I was so disheartened I never tried it again -- even though we now have another bread machine. I'm not sure how we came by it. I know I didn't purchase it. (Maybe @catweasel did ... hoping against hope to still get himself some home-made bread someday.)

But these recipes look so fabulous (you really are an artist at showing them off in your photos) I may have to take a deep breath and take the plunge one more time. But I'll have to wait until I'm emotionally strong enough to cope with another failure. I hate when those happen. Let's hope all your great inspiration doesn't go to waste.

The-STEEM-Engine

Sort:  

Haha @enchantedspirit, please try one more time, it really is worth it! Funny how it's always the hubbies who buy them :) When hubby arrived at home with a bread machine a couple of years ago, I also ignored it, was quite irritated with this thing taking up counter space. But once I tried it and that smell of hot bread woke us in the morning, I was hooked! So now my second machine packed up, hubby's been too busy to take a peek, he may just arrive with a new one soon instead of opening it up and having to try and figure out what the problem is.
The secret is the order of ingredients - liquids, salt & a little sugar or honey first, a small dash of oil or biggish blob of butter, then the flour and lastly the yeast which must stay dry. We have smaller sachets of yeast (7 gram) here, specifically for the bread machine. Depending on how fresh the flour is, we sometimes have small loaves and other times it rises so much that it hits the lid, but either way it still tastes great! I mostly make wholemeal bread.
Thank you for your lovely comments, I get hungry every time I look at that pizza, it was so yummy as was the bread.
Hope you soon become emotionally strong enough to face the battle of the bread machine :):) Please let me know who wins!