IF YOU EVER BEING EXPOSE TO RICHES, WORK HARD TO GET RICH. (MY DIARY 7)

in #dairy6 years ago (edited)

660E60E2-3A9F-4094-B746-98A04140F5E6.jpeg
Image

His flight arrived the airport around 9:00pm. I was already waiting with the cab man.

"Presh, thank you for coming. Is this your regular cab man? How have you been? Hmm, two years and you're just grown up like this."

I smiled.

"Big man, you should be happy I came here sef. Let me help you with that bag."

I told the cab man our destination as we settled for the brief night journey from the airport to her hotel.

The cab man spoke first.

“Madam Precious, na your Boyfriend be that?"

He looked at me and laughed.

"Bros, don't you see we look alike?"

"Sorry Oga, You know Madam precious has never shown me any lady since he started using my services in this city."

I shook my head.

4A242FEE-6B60-4D74-B797-1423A95AC644.jpeg
Image

"I no go allow my wife to work for office she go dey do night shift." It was the cab driver speaking. "If it's not day job, make she dey house."

I was surprised. "But I don't remember asking you any question."

"Echee (as he normally calls me). Haba. You're being too harsh on the driver. Allow him to talk. Driver please why did you say that?"

The driver told him that often times, he drops some ladies off on the Island. These are ladies who will be on call, telling their husband they're at the airport for their night shift. But in truth, another person is covering up for them and they're elsewhere with another man.

"Babe, you see why I said he should not say anything. What is our business with these stories he is telling now?"

"Echee chill. Let him entertain me. When last did you see me? Two years? Yet you're not even excited. Please oooooo."

The cab driver spoke in a more reserved tone.

"Madam precious, na so I take lose my wife. She divorced me because she started hanging out with all those rich women. And they find big men for her to sleep with. You no go understand."

I froze.

Wait, so this man was actually telling us what happened in his life. "But he has not mentioned this to me all the while we've known."

"I told you. Echezona Precious calm down and listen. You won't. Well, I am in the country now, I will teach you patience."

The cab driver said he started noticing some unruly behaviour few months after the wife got a night shift job at a local company. One thing led to the other and she packed out of his house.

It's been four years now and she wants to return. According to him, she heard he bought a new land and is building a small house of his own.

"Madam precious, just think am. If na you, how you go feel?"

I was nodding in silence.

He is saving up money now because nobody is there to spend on again. It is just him and his taxi.

"Do you still love your ex wife?" I asked him.

He said no. Before she was exposed to that kind of life, she was cool and they managed everything well. They had a good home.

"But Madam precious, after she started following those women, hmm...everything changed."

He was still talking when I slept off.

I believe my friend must've gotten the rest of his gist.

If you ever get exposed to riches, work hard to become rich. Don't test and go back.

And while working, remember to keep in mind, those who made themselves available to support and push you up.

It changes a whole lot.

You never can tell.

Diary @Preshchris