My Dance Story

in #dance6 years ago

Dance is one of my favorite hobbies, as I mentioned in my previous post. It is also my biggest passion besides singing and photography.

During my junior year, I joined the Dance Club in school where I learned as I grew with experience with teenagers like me that wanted to train more for dance. I've joined competitions that shaped me to be a better dancer that I am today.

Jazz is one of my favorite genres of dance, especially Contemporary Jazz. At first, I was so nervous but I didn't give up. I practiced a lot, pushed my way through, and overcame my fear of performing in front of an audience since I'm an anxious person. I love Contemporary Jazz because I get to express myself for example, while I was competing I performed a song called 'Try' by p!nk. As I danced I expressed myself with the relatable lyrics in the song and the flow of the dance. I don't really know how to explain how I felt during that competition so here's a picture of me and my partner dancing.

cb3ae21e-d799-4d69-9a7b-8e14c37741b7.jpg
(One of my favorite pictures of me and my partner.)

709240d6-5a2f-47a4-aa68-a0e77f75065e.jpg
(Fact: We won second place in the competition! Yaaaaay!! :D)

In my point of view, the pictures above really has a lot of meaning to it. I hope you guys understand what I'm trying to say. Now besides that, I've been introduced to a lot of different genres of dance like Indian and Chinese dance. This year I got soo busy that I wasn't able to have time for myself, but it was worth it in the end.

img_15175658161648.JPG
(A picture of our Indian dance where we won second place, again!)

img_15205795249488.JPG
(We also first place here! Can you see me?)

So far, I really am having the best time of my life with all of my dance mates. But it saddens me that I only have one year left before I leave my dance group and I won't be able to dance with them anymore. I shared a lot of memories and rough moments along the way with all of the girls. Hopefully, I could teach them what I've learned and helped them to be better at dance.

Sort:  

That’s beautiful! Dance is an expression of your inner self! I love dancing myself, when I was in my junior years I was a member of dance troupe! I didn’t go anywhere because my father was a strict one. But really, as soon as I hear music, I feel the best like away and I feel like dancing! Even if I am in malls and I hear dancing music I just dance with it! I dint care whst people around me think, as long as I am happy, and you actually give them the strength to dance with you too and smiles on their faces! Keep up the good work, Cyrenejoy!

What a wonderful look into your life

Beautiful photos taken of the performances. The expressions and clothing were very expressive and impressive. There are dance groups you could join around HK who mainly performs for the public and even go overseas too. Thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @cyrenejoy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!