Becoming a Rising Star!

in #dapps3 years ago (edited)

Using dApps to become a fake music star

As I mentioned in my Time to Come Back? post, I had a little nudge by one of my LogicForce pals, @mawit07, to look into ways of increasing my Hive earnings. One of those ways is using dApps. I am already on Splinterlands from the Steemit days, but he suggested doing dCITY and Rising Star [referral link]. Since I had already converted some of my miscellaneous coins in my Hive.Engine Wallet to SWAP.HIVE, I had a little bit of money burning a hole in my pocket. I used some of that money to buy a couple of Plots in Splinterlands [referral link]

hivewallet.png

Then I still had 75 SWAP.HIVE left over, so what to do?

Well, I went on a buying spree in dCITY, which I will post about some other time. After the dCITY buying cooled down, I decided to hop over to Rising Star.

This Game is still in BETA

The idea behind Rising Star, is you build the reputation and skills of a musician by doing missions. You can enhance those skills with cards that you can buy. The musician earns STARBITS and XP by completing missions. Missions require certain levels and reward in a range of rewards.

For example, the first mission you can do is Illegal Busking. Which for those people who don't live in the music world, means music panhandling. In this mission, you risk your luck playing for a crowd before the police kick you down the road. It takes 15% of your energy (basically, the power you have to limit the number of times you play), takes 5 minutes, requires you to be Level 1 and have 10 fans. It will reward you with 10 XP and between 1 and 8 (at the start, I got a couple of boosters) STARBITS.


illegalbusking.png

Well, luckily, the first card you have is a guy with 10 fans, which allows you to do this mission.


thebusker.png

Unfortunately, it looks like the game has a few bugs to work out, because after I did the mission 10 times, I got this message when trying to move up to the next level mission of 'Open Mic Night'.

You must complete 10 Illegal Busking missions before you can start this mission. You have completed 8.

If you look through the count, you can see that I earned STARBITS for 13 missions.


  1. 02:43 Congratulations! You completed 10 Illegal Busking missions and got a reward of 20 starbits!
  2. 02:43 Congratulations! You completed 10 missions and got a reward of 20 starbits!
  3. 02:43 7 drunks love your music and became your fans! Your maximum STARBITS per mission has increased. They will probably forget who you are when they sober up though so make the most of it!
  4. 02:43 You earned 6 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!
  5. 02:36 You found a coffee and your energy recovery rate has been increased for an hour. Buy Coffee Cups to store for later use.
  6. 02:36 You found a discarded pizza which has refilled your energy! You can store pizza for later use by buying Pizza Boxes.
  7. 02:36 You earned 11 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!
  8. 02:30 6 drunks love your music and became your fans! Your maximum STARBITS per mission has increased. They will probably forget who you are when they sober up though so make the most of it
  9. 02:24 You earned 5 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!
  10. 02:18 10 drunks love your music and became your fans! Your maximum STARBITS per mission has increased. They will probably forget who you are when they sober up though so make the most of it!
  11. 02:18 You earned 5 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!
  12. 02:13 You earned 7 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!
  13. 02:07 You earned 6 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!
  14. 02:01 5 drunks love your music and became your fans! Your maximum STARBITS per mission has increased. They will probably forget who you are when they sober up though so make the most of it!
  15. 02:01 You found a discarded pizza which has refilled your energy! You can store pizza for later use by buying Pizza Boxes.
  16. 02:01 You earned 8 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!
  17. 01:55 You found a coffee and your energy recovery rate has been increased for an hour. Buy Coffee * Cups to store for later use.
  18. 01:55 You earned 5 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!
  19. 01:50 Congratulations! You completed your first Illegal Busking mission and got a reward of 10 starbits!
  20. 01:50 Congratulations! You completed your first mission and got a reward of 10 starbits!
  21. 01:50 You earned 4 Starbits before the Police chased you away (de do do do de da da da)!

Now, on the good side, I also managed to find a couple of power ups to keep my missions going and complete those missions needed to get to the next level and do an 'Open Mic Night'. Which takes up more of your power, but gives you more reward opportunity.

The game is fairly simple to play. And, even though I purchased 2 packs, you don't need to purchase any packs to get started. In fact, there is something going wrong with the game right now that is preventing me opening the packs I purchased in order to use them.

As I am completing this post, I have earned 196 STARBITS and am 7 XP from Level 3. Is that worth anything? I have 48,181 EPIC tokens and they aren't worth a cup of coffee, so who knows what will happen with the STARBITS. But, if I keep playing, maybe it will add up to something some months from now.

It is all a waiting game and I just started a few hours ago.

There is more to this game and I might write-up another post, once I play a bit more.


DeanLogicForkSing-sm.png

Let the positive energy sing!

More Power to the Minnows!!


Sort:  

That's an odd bug with the mission count as no one has reported that before.

Did you manage to open your packs OK in the end? We had some issues with the scripts stalling for the last couple of nights but I think a server reboot has sorted it out now.

Cheers and rock on \m/
Jux.

Yes, the packs opened this morning, then took a little while before they registered.

I am not working on presenting my first "song". ;)