Interview with Rachel Bassini (Dash 101)

in #dash6 years ago (edited)

Rachel Bassini is the host of the English version of our new video series Dash 101, which explains the nuts and bolts of digital cash in a simple and entertaining way. I have interviewed her, so that you get to know her better. If you happen to be in Berlin on January 11, you can meet her in person at our launch party, which will take place at Oak & Ice on Schönhauser Allee. Rachel will perform some of her songs. And of course we will screen all eight episodes of Dash 101. 

 

Please tell us something about yourself: where are you from, what is your background, what do you do when you don't host Dash video shows?

I was born and raised in New York City, which really stoked a passion for  exploring neighborhoods, discovering new cultures along the way, and understanding urban development. To have a hand in shaping cities myself, I spent the first part of my life and career in architecture, real estate development, and urban economic development in cities that I thought were incredible: Buenos Aires and other cities in Argentina, Chile, and Brazil; San Francisco and other parts of California; and my hometown, New York. 

Getting to live and immerse in those cities and also work towards improving them was so gratifying, but the bureaucratic, political headaches of real estate development started to get to me. I started to get involved in the tech startup scene, full of dreamers who wanted to "build cool shit" without the constraints of all the red tape. So I joined the team of the NY-based tech startup, NewsCred, and over my 5 years there we grew from a couple people around a desk to a multi-national company, and I learned a ton about scaling the operations of a constantly evolving business along the way.

Two lifelong dreams were still itching though: I'd been dying to live in Berlin and immerse in its funky, weird vibes, and I'd wanted to live as a singer and songwriter, which had thus far onlybeen a side hobby. So I moved here and that's what I now do, while continuing to consult with startups here on growing their early stage, quickly changing businesses. Besides that, I travel a ton to keep discovering new cities and cultures. I have trouble saying no to random side trips.

How did you get involved with Dash 101?

A friend saw a posting from Aaron, the producer of the series, looking for someone to host it in English. I was getting extremely interested in cryptocurrency at the time, so I reached out to Aaron, sent him an audition video at midnight that day, we met up at a wine bar in Mitte and got along wonderfully...so I jumped in!

How would you explain what Dash is to your mom?

Ha, I just spent the holidays with my parents, so I had to explain it to them a few times! They had obviously heard of Bitcoin, so I explained that Dash, like Bitcoin, is one of many digital currencies that exist. It strives to be more user friendly and useful as a currency for everyday  transactions, rather than just for investment and speculation, through features like Instant Send. They kept thinking of Dash as a company so I explained that its development is managed by a DAO, which led to a discussion about the benefits of decentralization and how blockchain works. Then I just showed them our video series!

What were your experiences during the production? 

It was such a great collaborative energy and bonding experience with the small team that worked on it together: Max and Jenny working the camera, lighting, and mic; Annett doing hair and makeup (and bringing me her own clothes because I barely have any of my own in Berlin!); and Aaron directing and giving me really helpful feedback. The biggest challenge would come when you're on your 30th take of the day, you're hot, sweaty and uncomfortable under the studio lights, and you have to act as fresh and alert and enthusiastic as the 1st take of the day. But I learned that your stamina builds up quickly; the 30th take of day two was so much easier than that of day one. I also learned that the really big expressions my face tends to make in conversation doesn't work quite so well on camera!



What do you like about Dash? What are critical points?

Because of the decision-making abilities of masternodes and the treasury available to implement decisions, Dash can keep evolving in an intelligent way to avoid the pitfalls other digital cash systems have faced and to be adaptive to user needs and the evolving ecosystem within which it exists. Instant Send is a perfect example of an adaptive feature of Dash: without this seemingly simple feature, digital cash could never be the convenient, preferred currency of choice for everyday transactions.

What do you personally expect from a digital currency? What are important criteria for you to use it in daily life?

In addition to being able to instantly send money, anything digital needs to be kept extra secure and private. Low transactions fees are also a must. And I'm forgetful, so I appreciate having a way to access my digital cash even if I forget the password or have misplaced my "wallet". There are all these stories now about people digging through their attics- or even landfills! - looking for old hard drives that hold their bitcoins now worth a fortune; I would definitely have lost an old hard drive, so it's probably not the worst thing I missed the early Bitcoin train!



How do you see the future development of digital currencies?

Until there's a critical mass of adoption, values will continue to be volatile and therefore they'll continue to be used more for investment and speculation than for transactions. To achieve this critical mass of adoption, digital cash must be much more user friendly and accessible to all. Because Dash is making that a priority, I think it's definitely moving in the right direction. 

 



Also, making a marketplace requires vendors to get on board. You need to be able to walk into a store, ask if they take Dash, and have the answer often be yes, just like with credit cards. We are a long way away from that, unfortunately, and it will eventually happen if customers demand it, but perhaps Dash, with its masternodes' ability to spearhead initiatives, is in the unique position to accelerate that process. 

Sort:  

I'm really looking forward to new Dash 101 series but I can't believe Aaron wore a PIVX t-shirt in this Dash post update. That is very bad form especially when you're delivering a project update to community that has been funded with Dash. You're working on this project as a paid contractor to the Dash network. You wouldn't wear a Samsung t shirt for a Apple project community update. I'm sincerely hoping this was an honest mistake, but my gut feeling is Aaron was fully aware when he created and published this post. Surely no one is that naive.

No, I just wore that t-shirt that day and the video we shot was a spontaneous idea, not planned at all. It is interesting that you compare a relatively small Dash fork like PIVX to Apple / Samsung. This is ridiculous. From my point of view there is only ONE crypto community. We should fight the banks and governments, not among each other.

I don't think the Masternodes will want to take the risk that you might wear a Monero Shirt the next time.

I don't think the Masternodes are afraid of Monero. They should not be afraid of anyone.
I think I will wear a JP Morgan t-shirt for my next private video shooting.

It's certainly not about being afraid and I don't think it's smart on your part to assume that. It's just that they paid you and not Monero or PIVX and they don't want competitors advertised in a project they paid. But hey, it's a free market. If you think that is a ridiculous critique, fair enough.

It definitely should give Dash masternodes pause before voting for another Koenig proposal in the future!

And you should better not tell the masternodes how to vote. Your attitude is childish. I don't think anyone with such an attitude should play a role in a cool project like Dash.

There is no PIVX advertising in Dash 101. We recorded a private video of Rachel's song which has nothing to do with Dash.

Thank you for your reply Aaron. It wasn't my intention to add fuel to the fire or start a witch hunt, I just felt a little deflated as I was super excited and have been waiting for the new Dash 101 video series so I can update our International Dash School webpages and have them available in other languages. As my name was used in your Dash proposal I have a strong interest in the project. To be honest I didn't expect an apology or to start a thread on "t-shirt" subject. However the no remorse replies do give me little cause for concern.

It was just an observation, to make you aware of my concern for future reference. It is by no means a deal breaker. But I can think of 150 Dash reasons why it wasn't the most logical choice of clothing to wear the day filming a Dash project. 'Perhaps' it wasn't intentional but you didn't exactly play a pivotal role in the video so it did come off as slightly borderline trolling. Which is why I want to address the issue.

Especially as it's the second 'Dash 101' project update you have published on Steemit using same PIVX pic and video https://steemit.com/dash/@aaronkoenig/meet-rachel-bassini

Thank you for editing and removing the offending video from article. Much appreciated.

I only decided to comment as I wanted to share this article out to the Dash community but then had second thoughts when I actually saw the content.

I just hope the end product is good. That is what truly matters to me. So far production looks good. Amanda B. Johnson set the bar very high with her original Dash 101 series. We'll just have to wait till tomorrow and see what community thinks of the remake. I've been looking forward to this for a long time. Cheers

Yes, you are right as fighting with each other is of no use if we want to make the change we should take some alternative steps.
<-- upvoted -->

love to read it

Surely you are preparing for a very good show

Thanks @aaronkoenig

fabulous one..................thank for sharing

Amaze nice behaviour of talking good to read it .small follower @amitraj

I really like your publications I will always follow you

Thanks for sharing sir..

very well prepared :)

Excellent performer,
Super post @aaronkoenig

Voll Super, vor allem das es jetzt ja das D-A-CH von Dash gibt! lg

that's pretty cool to know....

I am very new here too and I have a lot to learn from successful writers like you. Congratulations 👏🙋‍♀️

Really beautiful program wonderful article my friend

good post

yes he is a legend.lovely way of explaining the bolts and nuts.thanks for sharing such good post following you.

A very superior and very brilliant presenter I follow her domina

this video is very good. This gives us a lot of information

She is great and has such a beautiful eyes! Good luck with the show! congrats @aaronkoenig

Very well prepared :) Good posts.
Thanks for share

I find u now and i love your post, thanks

its very good!