Recovering a DarkCoin (former Dash) wallet file from 2014..

in #dash7 years ago

It's good to keep digital files that you may want in the future, especially since disk space is getting cheaper.

In the case of cryptocurrencies, it is even more interesting, as a wallet file could be worth a lot of monetary value one day.

There have been many stories of the early bitcoin miners who have lost their coins. It is like winning the lottery but the ticket was thrown away.


Back in 2014 and earlier, I had created a GPU mining rig, and at the time, there were so many new coins that kept popping up, so I thought I would mine as many as I could, even trying to mine the coin as soon as it was launched because the difficulty would be at the lowest to start.

Overall, I had mined over 80 different coins. Most of them are completely dead now, or are worth close to nothing. It was really tough to manage so many full node wallets! Eventually, I just archived all the wallet files and decided to not touch them until sometime in the future.

Recently, after seeing Dash price rocket from the start of the year, I wondered if I had mined some DarkCoin (former Dash) back in 2014. Looking through the archive, I found a wallet file!


I downloaded the latest Dash client and restored the wallet file, and had it sync. Good thing was that the file was still compatible with the latest client. I saw I had mined 3.91 of them! I didn't even remember as I kept trying to mine everything left and right back then.

Here's what the Dash client looks like today:


Well, I've restored a few other wallets from my archive, prioritizing the ones that I recognize still exist today. Some of them are really hard to find current peers on the network or any new development news or exchanges that still trade it. Some even have the same name as a different coin, like ByteCoin. Yet others had done a coin relaunch, with a coin swap on a participating exchange that I didn't know about and missed. This was the case of RubyCoin, where it was a short notice of a one week period to swap the old RubyCoin v1 to the new RubyCoin v2 on the Bittrex exchange back in November 2014. Here are the remaining:

It'll be tedious for sure.


 

Follow me! @bitcoiner

Sort:  

I'm impressed that you know Dash was Darkcoin.

There's a huge amount of Dash holders that don't even know what Darkcoin is/was or why it was renamed. Yet they plunk their savings into the coin. :)

Nice wallet archive. I have a bunch of them too laying around somewhere...

It's important to know at least a little bit of whatever investments you may have! Otherwise, it's speculation and gambling.

Yeah I was telling everyone to use darkcoin in 2015 wen i found out about it, i even have the Darkcoin QT program still installed ti prove it, never was able to ever synchronize up to the network, i have a vivid memory of being at miami airport on this laptop in 2015 opening up darkcoin trying to sync up so i could use it, i wish i would have actually bought some! I was amazed t find out they were ddash later!

an yeah its crazy having alll the full node wallets ...when poloniex delisted 17 coins i tred getting wallts for them all, big mistake, i didnt know bitrex would just have them all or alot of them! and yeah having alot of wallet nodes is a pain!
,
but yeah crazy how so many people have no idea about darkcoin! I knew it and cloakcoin would end up being successful, i had no idea darkcoin would grow into something as big as dash though! now I know anything is possible! I really do believe we will see $100 steem this year and next year $1000 steem!

Hehe, I got access to an old pool recently that I used to mine Darkcoin on and was surprised to find out I had left some (back then) dust amount in there.

Now if only I had held on to all of what I mined with 1 cpu I would have 10+ masternodes running now.

Thanks reading this post

Dis is the Best dashwallet