From Saver to Investor: Why I Invested in DASH Masternode Shares Three Months Ago

in #dash7 years ago (edited)

dash_heart_highres.png

I’ve always been good with money. At least that’s what my parents would say,

“Thank God, we’ll never have to worry about her!”

I was a saver, not a spender.

Saving money for the future was considered to be “good with money” in my family and also in the German mentality in general.

And indeed, in the past — even up until a few years ago — one used to get rewarded for saving. However things have changed drastically in recent years. The rewards — aka interest rates — have been decreasing to almost zero now, and the flip to negative interest rates is imminent.

In fact, for many people with modest bank accounts the flip has already taken place without them realizing it.

Have you checked your interest received vs. your banking fees paid, lately?

Our money won’t grow in the bank anymore.

On the contrary, the fees and ultimately the negative interest will eat up our money bit by bit.

It’s not smart to save money anymore.

Savers have to become investors

I became aware of this shift in late 2015 and realized, I wasn’t exactly “good with money” anymore, if I wouldn’t wake up and change something.

If the bank wouldn’t help me grow my money, I had to do it myself. So I enrolled in an investment and trading course and learned how to use trading software, study graphs and trends and spot opportunities.

Long story short: after half a year I knew I would only succeed in this if I turned it into a full-time job. And — while I love money — this was not my idea of a fulfilled life :)

Bitcoin?

Through my new community of investors, however, I heard about Bitcoin one day in the Fall of 2016. Someone had asked a question about it and all the “old experts” warned him,

“Way too volatile! No real historical data yet. Stay away from it!”

Hmmmmm… my interest was sparked and I wanted to see this for myself.

I bought my first Bitcoin in January 2017 for €876.

A month later I had made €200 profit. Something I hadn’t managed to achieve in 6 months of practicing traditional trading/investing.

DASH!

Now I had a little more knowledge and first hand experience and my excitement about my first win made me look into other cryptocurrencies as well.

The one that stuck out to me most, was DASH. I had witnessed it shooting from #7 to number #3 on coinmarketcap.com in a matter of days and I identified with DASH’s target group pretty quickly.

The DASH creators realized that most “mainstream” people still find the world of crypto a bit too techy and complicated. They decided to change that and make things user-friendly and accessible for “everyone and their mom”.

Since I had been on that exact journey, trying to onboard myself in this new world, I could totally relate and felt right at home there from the beginning. Especially after going through DASH School and graduating within an hour! At the end of it I was 100% on board with DASH!

I invested €130 of my Bitcoin profit in DASH on February 27.

By March 18, those €130 had turned into €491.

I had just made €361 while I was lying in a hammock in Thailand, doing nothing.

2016-03-06 18.20.51.jpg

Cryptocurrencies are networks. DASH is a prosperous virtual village.

A big selling point for me was also the fact that DASH seems to attract conscious, grown-up, respectful and mutually supportive people of all ages. The Dash Nation Slack channel feels like a virtual village where people take care of one another.

Not once have I felt uncomfortable asking “stupid” questions as a newbie, and yes, also as a woman. It still is a man’s world, let’s face it, but I do feel that the mutual goal of the DASH creators, the DASH community and of course myself, is to change that.

All of the above led me to believe and trust in DASH’s future so much, that I wanted to get more invested.

More DASH coins or a Masternode share?

With DASH being at its (then) all time high of around €100, I wanted to wait and see if the price would drop after that spike, before I invested more. In the meantime I looked into masternode shares.

One masternode costs 1,000 DASH.

Even if I could afford that, I wouldn’t be interested in running a masternode, because besides the financial rewards it also comes with quite some responsibility.

See more info here: What is a masternode?

In the Dash Slack channel there are currently two masternode owners who offer shares: moocowmoo and splawik21.

I learned that I could get shares for a minimum of 25 DASH, which would give me a monthly payout of approx. 0.1908 DASH.

0.1908 times 12 makes 2.2896 DASH a year.

That’s a little over 9% per year.

Which bank offers us this kind of interest rate for approx. €2.500 these days??

“Yes, but what if DASH crashes? Then your 2.2896 DASH won’t be worth much!”

That's true.

However - if I believe in Dash so much that I'm buying it as a a longterm investment, I might as well put that investment into masternode shares and earn interest with it, no?

In the long term I believe DASH will keep breaking its own records and keep reaching new all time highs.
I believe DASH has only just begun to unfold its potential.
I believe my returns will turn out to be much higher than 9%.

I believe I believe I believe — yes, I base my investment in DASH coins and in a masternode share entirely on belief and trust. Just as other people believe and trust in precious metals, in property, or in their favorite cryptocurrency, which is not DASH.

Everyone should do what they believe in. Nobody knows for sure what the ultimate best investment is at any time. As long as we are conscious of what we are doing, we can always react and make changes to our investments when needed. And I can always pull out my 25 DASH again, if I change my mind.

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 17.45.45.png

http://dashmasternode.org

More beliefs and crystal ball predictions

I believe that people will wake up en masse soon and become more and more conscious about how to invest their money. Or — sadly — they will be forced to find ways to bring their money to safety. People will turn to them in time of financial or political instability, as we are already seeing in countries like Venezuela.

I believe DASH will be at €300 by the end of 2017 and at around €1,000 before 2020. (Of course I can’t know this. But it feels good to type it anyway! I won’t mind if I’m wrong. But the thought of turning out to be right, wow, I would have proof that I’m “good with money” again!).

I believe cryptocurrencies in general are unstoppable, but especially Dash.

So how does one get a share of a masternode?

Well, the actual process takes about two seconds, since all you do is send 25 DASH to the masternode owner.

However this will probably be the biggest leap of faith you’ve ever done in your life. So please, go with what YOU believe, not what I believe.

On this page you can find the three providers who offer masternode shares:

https://masternode.me/ aka moocowmoo in the Slack channel.
http://dashmasternode.io aka splawik21 in the Slack channel

I suggest you join the Slack channel and start having conversations and build relationships before you take that step.

I went with splawik21 because we had happened to have a couple of conversations before and he explained to me how this whole masternode share thing actually works. Then I did the math as per above and decided to trust and send him the money.

Bye bye, money!

You probably know this, but as a word of caution: you, me, and everyone should only ever invest an amount of money they can live without. There is always, always a risk involved.

Whenever I invest something, I literally say, “Bye bye, money!” (Don’t take this literally, splawik21!) I am very conscious of this fact. But I also always add, “Come back and surprise me!” while waving Good Bye.

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 17.35.02.png

Three months later

It's the end of June now and my masternode shares are my new savings masterplan. I am receiving regular payouts, and the price of Dash has risen by about 60% since I started.

My "$300 by the end of 2017"-prediction seems very likely to come true a this moment. Especially with all the big news of this week.

I am super happy I made this investment and I'm loving it in the Dash community

Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 17.35.02.png

This is a shortened and slightly updated version of my original Medium article of March 22, 2017, which you can read here: https://medium.com/dash-for-newbies/savers-have-to-become-investors-why-i-invested-in-a-dash-masternode-share-93de6c530a11



+++
Hi, I’m Anja :)
I write mostly for women entrepreneurs and support them in managing their money and their business. I have written a Beginner's Guide to Steemit & Crypto Currencies and am currently launching the Conscious Crypto Community.
You can also find me in the Women of Dash group on Slack.
+++

Sort:  

great blog about dash i too love dash but i spend all mine because of living i have a medical condition and can't do the job i used to so i rely on my crypto till i get back on my feet

Isn't it great what Crypto offers us, when we can't earn money the "usual" way - due to whatever circumstances we're in! Good luck to you and all the best!

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! You've done it once again. :)

well, mostly because it was a "re-print" LOL, but thank you :)

I am not even sure what dash is. Would you explain?

Hi @sportfan, Dash stands for Digital Cash and is a crypto currency that focuses on "the average person", meaning to make dealing with crypto currency as as easy as Paypal for example, so that even our moms can understand and use it. www.dash.org
If you watch Dash School on Youtube you'll understand everything about it in about 30min. Link is above in my article.

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://medium.com/dash-for-newbies/savers-have-to-become-investors-why-i-invested-in-a-dash-masternode-share-93de6c530a11

You're lucky to get into DASH at earlier stages. Now it has gone up quite a lot and there's lesser room for growth.

You know I thought that when I got in in February. I found Dash when it was at about $16 and got in at $26. I thought I had missed the boat. Then it went up to $100. I was very happy :)

I got my masternode shares at about $100 and thought that was quite risky.
But now it's at $160 and higher.
And I'm again very happy :)

We are still at the very beginning. Dash has a big vision and very concrete plans. I'm sure it will go where Bitcoin's price is right now.

Wow you're so lucky. I wish my coins would also grow like that. Following you. See yoy around.

interesing post ;) upvoted & followed