Is The Government Surveillance Affecting Your Life?

in #databreach5 years ago (edited)

AdobeStock_171462504-1024x576.jpeg

As far back as I can remember, life was full of fun in the 90s. I lived my life fearlessly and I need not to worry about the consequences of things that I did and the words that I said. I had my circle of friends and we did what almost every young adult did. The advancement of technology, however, have changed how things used to be.

The internet and the IOTs have made this world smaller. Everything is within reach by just a few clicks. Instead of walking up to my wife and talk to her, I could just send her a text message while I’m still in bed. Technology has made our lives more convenient and this is the good part. The bad part is, because we are always connected to the internet, they are a lot of spies and data miners who are watching us.

How much of your personal details are being put on the social medias?

How many messages do you send to your friends and families on the messaging apps each day?

Over the last few years, we have heard many data breach cases. You can find the details here. Our personal data isn’t safe, and it is just a matter time before our 10,000 words per day conversation with our closest friends get leaked from our messaging app.

On top of these data breach cases, the government has drastically expanded their social media monitoring programs in the recent years. They are doing this in the name of national security to prevent any criminal acts. Some sort of monitoring tools are being deployed to gather the data of the persons-of-interests and important keywords.

I appreciate all their effort to curb down terrorism or any political and religious unrest. However, I do not agree with the idea that I am being monitored all the time. I might have different political and religious views than the majority but when I am being monitored, I don’t think I can express what my thoughts are, though the intention is not to cause any harm. Moreover, what if someone in the government is abusing the data that they have collected? What if that someone is using all these data for his personal gain?

Life is no longer fun. I need to be cautious even when I want to have a chat on the phone. These prying bugs can be anywhere. Has your life been affected by any data breach and by the government surveillance? Share your thoughts on the comments section.

Having said that, I am looking forward to use Stegos app. Stegos is a decentralized and private messaging and payment app. It’s kinda like WeChat, but decentralized and private. You can find more details about Stegos in my next article.