The Art of Manliness

in #dating7 years ago

To be a man in a world that seems to be constantly on the look out for opportunities to shame men is no walk in the park. Howbeit, being a man is not a choice...it's an obligation and an honor.

Perhaps there's no better place for this to be illustrated than in the dating world. If you have ever caught yourself wondering about what it takes to be a man i.e a man's man, the type of guy ladies fawn over and men wish they were, wander (pun intended) no further.

To quote one of my favorite authors, Anais Nin:
"I, with a deeper instinct, choose a man who compels my strength, who makes enormous demands on me, who does not doubt my courage or my toughness, who does not believe me naïve or innocent, who has the courage to treat me like a woman.”

That up there, succinctly written, is the essence of being a man. It's not about being a 'bad boy'...that's so 2016 neither is it about being the 'nice guy' chump who is basically a floor mat. It's about being really comfortable doing and being you that you're able to elevate anybody, ladies inclusive, to the best versions of themselves.

Now, that's called being a man. Here's my parting shot, "It is strange that modesty is the rule for women when what they most value in men is boldness." - Ninon de l'Enclos

Sort:  

I love Anais Nin. Read most of her short story collections & saw the film Henry & June.

Yeah she's cool alright...I've only read Delta of Venus and Little Birds though. I've been looking forward to seeing the film Henry & June but haven't had any luck yet. Say, you got a copy of Henry & June?

Saw it a long time ago on VHS, I think. I'm pretty sure you can tr**t it somehow

Lol, the movie is retro/vintage but its a classic any day anytime...most versions on Youtube and elsewhere are just blank and a waste of precious data. Well, I hope I'm able to lay my hands on the movie sometime though.

Congratulations @slimdame! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @slimdame! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!