We met on Tinder

in #dating8 years ago

What is Tinder

Tinder is a dating app where you can view photos of people in your area who are looking to meet someone. Along with photos you can post a profile. It is linked to your facebook account and you can see if you have friends in common with the people you view. It has gotten a bad reputation as a hookup site which may or may not be well deserved.

What brought me to tinder

Almost two years ago I lost my fiancee to a heart attack. https://steemit.com/life/@william-noe/a-codependent-love-story#@william-noe/re-william-noe-a-codependent-love-story-20160623t031107734z
I was in a really bad place and mostly felt all alone in the world. I knew that I had to move forward with my life and that living in the past was going to lead to a lifetime of pain for me. I decided to put myself back on the market and look for someone to spend my life with. In my profile I said I was looking for a long term relationship and hinted at a heartbreak.

I got a date

I messaged a few women on the site and one in particular got my attention. We were both engineers and we were both interested in getting married and having children in the near future. We messaged each other for a few days and she agreed to meet me. We met at a bar and hit it off at least I thought we did. I was so excited I fell head over heels. I gave a guy waiting for the bus a high five as I walked back to my car.

2 years later

We’re still together. We have had a few rough patches mostly from me and getting over my grief and drinking that developed. We live together and get along great. And I just bought a diamond ring. I feel so lucky to have met such a wonderful woman on my first try, turns out I was the first guy she met on there as well.

Do I tell people where we met

We usually just say we met on the internet, which once had a stigma has become socially acceptable. Tinder does have those connotations that I don’t believe to be well earned. Many couples have met on Tinder and gotten married. I suppose it has more to do with the people and their intentions than the platform itself. People could “hookup” at bible camp or people could get in a “relationship” with people they meet at a dance club. It’s more about what you and the other person want. That you are honest with each other about your intentions and that you get along with each other. FTR I don’t have anything against people who choose to hookup it’s just not something I’m interested in.

Sort:  

I never have any luck on tinder, people always seem to be only going to be really attractive people in my experience, although im only 23 so values are different at this point.

i totally agree. i own http://www.hepays.com and http://www.gkiz.com and i am working on an APP which doesn't go in terms of how attractive someone is rather on interests.. it will be like tinder. Tinder i hate exactly because its so superficial

Cool, I sold blow jobs on tindr for a lil bit but i met a guy who introduced me to ECCIE and now I sell BJS on there. lol were practically like the same person