Sunday Baking

in #daysoff2 years ago

Today was a day for baking, and delicious supper. On Friday, we realized we didn't have anymore bread in the freezer and we were due to make more. Our lovely daughter is obsessed with peanut butter sandwiches, so no bread for our toddler means an almost inevitable emotional purge first thing in the morning.

img_0.08833935276454896.jpg
Hugging her kitty once she calmed down enough to start giving out kisses to her pets.

She's typically pretty good about letting her emotions fly lately, and then moving on quickly. We like to let her explore her feelings in a healthy way. We explain situations and get down on her level. We tell her we are here for her when she's ready and she normally refocuses and comes in for a hug.

Anyways, back to baking. I love baking. Cake decorating is something I truly enjoy, but don't over excel in. The food nearly always tastes amazing, though, so there's a huge win! I made garlic rolls, 2 loaves of whole wheat bread, and a tiny batch of cinnamon rolls. Did I mention these are all vegan?! Yup. Carob chips can be used in place of chocolate chops, and there's many great vegan butters around now it's wonderful!

img_0.48580737281551245.jpg

Whole wheat flour is more dense than unbleached flour and I always use less flour than the recipe calls for, and a little more yeast. It always works out for me.

img_0.5921990141234486.jpg

My tiny batch of cinnamon buns were a hit, before I remembered to snap a photo. I just used the same dough as my bread.

img_0.9461305416417018.jpg

For supper we had minestrone soup. Had it slow cooking all afternoon and made the pasta separate as we weren't sure if Nugget would eat the soup. The little garlic rolls turned out super delicious.

To top off the day, I made a simple box confetti cake, Betty crocker style... but I Curbiefied it. Since we don't buy eggs, I replaced the 3 eggs with 1 portion blueberry applesauce (the ones you can toss in your lunch with a tin lid) and 1 mashed banana. I used unsweetned vanilla oat milk as per the recipe, and used coconut oil in place of vegetable oil. The last switch was just my preference. I iced it with Betty Crocker vanilla icing.

img_0.21407416484633837.jpg

I love when my days off start productive and end delicious!

Sort:  

Congratulations @curbiegal! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 25
Introducing NFT for Peace
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!