Trying Out dCity for the first time

in #dcity2 years ago

Screenshot 2021-11-28 at 21.24.16.png

I always have a soft spot for gaming on Hive. With the success of Splinterlands, gaming is one of the prime ways to bring users to Hive so I started checking out some of the other games on offer in Hive and I stumbled across @dCity. I heard of it before but this time I was going see what it was all about. I am quite into games with stats and maths. I love Football Manager for example and I quite liked theme park as well. Some people call these boring video games which I couldn't disagree with more. That handshake negotiation in theme park had me on the edge of my seat on many an occasion and waiting for that striker to put pen to paper in Football manager was equally thrilling.

Screenshot 2021-11-28 at 21.31.16.png

So I signed up for dCity. The founder upvoted a few posts of mine recently and that goes a long way in my book. Anyway I found their branding excellent and their backgrounds are very nice. The game itself is quite complex so I had to watch a few tutorials. Getting through these tutorials were the big challenge. Loving these kind of games is one thing. Watching a Youtube video of someone playing it is a whole different ball game. I am about to hit 40 so I was dozing off doing that head drop and waking up again. In my slumber a couple of tips went in so I had the basics. My population was 3 people and I pulled a Nuclear power station in my cards I purchased but sure I had nobody to work in the place so it was inactive. So off I went and purchased some workers and bobs your uncle. Nuclear power station up and running.
I have been on this for the afternoon and for every business I purchased I made sure I had workers to be employed. So right now I have 55 active cards. My Sims (Token) is at 20 mainly due to being taxed to the bollocks plus the unemployed people are draining my resources. It's tough being a government official. I have still tonnes to figure out but I am quite enjoying it and I haven't really put in much at all. Whenever I stay in at the weekend I just my spending in pints of Guinness. At this stage of the night I would have had 5 pints which is €25. So I will go off and buy a crypto to the value of the pints.
So over the next couple of weeks I am going to keep plugging away and learning about the various systems in the game. Looking back at tutorials I have seen there were a few bugs in the game but the game itself is so complex that I wouldn't wonder why there wasn't more hiccups. But as a playable game, in this new decentralised world. where liquidity pools and NFT's are the new normal , it's quite a good game to play and when you start building you actually get tokens in return as well which will be nice. I'm gonna do it the way I did with Monsters. Throw a few spare Hive at it and enjoy myself playing it. The returns are a bonus. I have been paying 80 quid for video games for years and they haven't given me a penny back yet with the exception of having a good time. That's the way we should look at these games on $hive. Alot of hard work and effort has gone into this one. You can tell. It's miles away from games like Drugwars for example. There's alot more to this one. It will take me a couple of weeks to get my city up and running. I'm getting Patterson in as my Sanitation Commissioner. If you get this you are a legend,

Screenshot 2021-11-28 at 21.56.47.png
Source

Sort:  

That reminds me, are you still going to try playing Splinterlands actively? Then I will delegate some cards to help you and recommend using the rental market to get into silver after that , rental pretty much pays itself , just so long as you get out of bronze. Let me know in discord maybe then I can go quickly check to send cards.

Jesus @penderis that would be great. What server you on and il jump in later

can just DM me username is the same

OK thanks cheers you are a gentleman and il make sure I will owe you one down the road.

ok delegated, mainly earth team with water then you can rent to fill others you might need to fill out for quests , should be able to already play up to silver 3 level

Thanks so much mate. I really appreciate it.

It's a game that has totally passed me by on hive. I might go back and try it at some stage as I do like those games as well.
It has a loyal following and some good development.

Also you can tag gaming content with #oneup as they are building a new gaming community and have big plans.

Yeah I quite liked it. Thanks for the heads up.


Congratulations @blanchy!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 21