My dCity Log #1 - What Brought Me to dCity

in #dcity4 years ago

dcity_bgs_tournament03.png

My dCity Log #1 - What Brought Me to dCity

I've wanted to get into an NFT game for a while just to see how they work, but I wasn't really actively looking. I figured at some point I'd run across something that interested me and go from there. While checking out the stuff going on at Hive, I saw a reference to dCity. I checked it out and made a note to go back for a deeper dive. Just the idea of a city management-style game brought back memories of Caesar II and III, and SimCity. (Got the SimCity 4 soundtrack on right now!) Also looking at Splinterlands, but I don't have the bandwith to add anything else to my plate at the moment.

Having some idle Hive (and Steem), and after reading a few tutorials, I was ready to get going.

Some initial thoughts on dCity:

It's still early in the game development and that's fun. Nothing better than being an early adopter, amirite? There are obviously lots of features that are yet to come in the game and I don't mind the idea that the game is going to change as it develops. It's relatively simple now, but will obviously get more complex with new card editions, new game mechanics etc. That will be part of the challenge and the fun.

One unexpected feature was the integration of other Hive tokens like BEER, WEED, and others. It's a great way to feed and grow the whole Hive ecosystem and introduce new people to the possibilities with blockchain gaming. I hope to see this expand further as the game develops.

I like the simplicity of the user interface and graphics. It could obviously be upgraded in a lot of ways, but all of that is superficial. The focus is on the concepts involved with managing the city and that's the important part. Too much on the graphics side might be an unnecessary distraction.

There's room for different strategies depending on your goals. Want to maximize for SIM income? Farm other tokens? Trade cards for Hive? And your
city can have different development phases as your goals change. You can even have other cities optimized for different strategies.

I quickly came up with a long term plan for my city, but also realized I would like to try other strategies to see how they play out. So, I'm likely to start another city or two. I'm already a few weeks into my first city, but in the next posts I'm going to backtrack a bit and talk about my first steps.

See you at the next mayor's convention!