You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [.]

in #de-stem6 years ago

I am answering in English, because it is easier for me (reading German is OK, but answering in German would take ages for me and I will end up with sentences full of errors :p) .

First, very nice post! Thanks for writing this. Usually, I am being upset with anything I read about that topic, but your post is very honest and exact.

Let's start with a fun fact that I remembered to myself thanks to your article. Did you know that traveling at the speed of light allows one to reach the end of the visible universe within a single human lifetime, for the same reasons that are mentioned at the beginning of your post (time dilatation). :)

More seriously (although my comment above is very serious, and backed up by calculations), the problem for an Alcubierre drive is to find this exotic form of matter with an energy density. And even with this, the drive would still be far from being constructed. But it is good to dream of it. I have hope humans may find something at some point to improve space travels :)

Sort:  

First, very nice post! Thanks for writing this. Usually, I am being upset with anything I read about that topic, but your post is very honest and exact.

That sure is a very flattering comment. Thank you. :)

Did you know that traveling at the speed of light allows one to reach the end of the visible universe within a single human lifetime

If you could travel at 1 c, time would "stop" for you due to dilatation, yes.
But on the other hand, you would not be able to reach the end of the visible universe as its expansion rate increases and it will expand faster than the speed of light, especially taking in regard that it would (at 1 c) take about 13 billion years to reach the edge already, wouldn't it? Reference 16.

the problem for an Alcubierre drive is to find this exotic form of matter with an energy density. And even with this, the drive would still be far from being constructed. But it is good to dream of it. I have hope humans may find something at some point to improve space travels :)

Indeed, and I stated that we - sadly - haven't found this type of exotic matter... yet.
(If it's even possible to find/create.)

I do think, when necessary and the prerequisites are met, we will find a way.
Although logically flawed, we managed to get man on the moon after we put a lot of funding in it - so, after finding the technology, with enough funding, we could be able to make it (at least once) possible. Maybe.
But this will be far off in the future.

Anyway, Glad you like my post, and thank you again for the resteem. :)

Sorry, not at the speed of light, but close enough (see here) :)

Yes, traveling at 1 c would only be possible when we could transform into photons. :D

I'll have a look. :)

That's fine, I don't want to become a photon. And I don't want to become a graviton too :D

great read and an inspiring discussion!
i thought space is already curved and has no end, much like the surface of a sphere hasn't. also, traveling at such high speeds, every atom becomes radiation and any debris a lethal projectile.