RIP Uncle

in #death7 years ago

“After all, what's a life, anyway? We're born, we live a little while, we die.”

E.B. White, Charlotte's Web

My Uncle passed this morning. He was the eldest of twelve children on my mother’s side. And the second one to die. My Uncle Barrington died a little over thirty years ago. Uncle Carlton was the one who died recently. This morning in fact, Japan time that is. I think it was in the afternoon back home.

After my grandfather's funeral

Carlton.jpg![Carlton1.jpg]

His was a long hard battle with multiple illnesses. A man can fight for so long though, and so he took his last breath; how exactly? I don’t know. I am a bit happy about that. Sometimes it is best that we remember our loved ones during their best times. So I will only be able to recall the fun loving, happy, jovial man, who, if you were not careful would chat you up for hours. Literally. It is never easy losing the ones we love, irrespective of how much we see them suffer. But who knows. I hope he is in that proverbial, better place. And thus, I share with you these few memories I have save of him. And indeed, they were great ones.

His wife Jean to his left

()

Dinner at his house

Carlton2.jpg

Family photo

Carlton3.jpg

Walk Good Carlton James.

Sort:  

So sorry for your loss.

Congratulations @nicholas1983! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!