The Sandman: Dream and Death

in #death2 years ago

Busy painting and drawing tonight but trying to make more posts here. So, since I'm currently listening to the fantastic audio production of Neil Gaiman's The Sandamn while working, I thought I'd share a few illustrations I've done of Dream and his big sister Death. This first one is a raw scan of a penciled piece of the two of them. 11x17in.

Death and Dream.jpg

The second here is a personal favorite of the work I've done this past year, of Death sitting and enjoying a fall breeze. Ink on bristol, 17x11in.

Death.JPG

The final one for tonight is a piece I did of Death while guesting on a live streaming on Instagram with the phenomenal artist Clara Meath. It's ink on paper, 9x12in, and was inked in just under an hour.

Image_20201123_0001.jpg

Anyway, I hope you are all doing well this evening. I'll be back here again soon with some more photography posts, my follow up post about mental health and Tom Waits portraits, and maybe even some sort fiction? Eh?

XOXO
-Adam

Sort:  

All gorgeous stuff… your quality and quantity of work never ceases to amaze!
I’m getting ready to “Gaiman it up” a bit myself. With a chunk of a recent crypto windfall I decided to treat myself to all 7 of the “Absolute” Sandman hardcovers. It’s time for a massive re-read…

Congrads on the recent windfall! I'll admit I am very envious of having the Absolute collection; I spend more time than I should on eBay trying to find them for prices I can justify. Someday though, someday! And thank you for the kind words! I hope you enjoy the reread. I've heard of some folks listening to the audio productions while reading the comics, which seems like it might be a fun thing to try.

I have never listened to an audio book at all but I've heard people rave about the Sandman stuff so it might be a good place to start! Doing it in conjunction with the comics would feel like an adult version of those old children's storybook & record/tape combos...

Very nice work. I've not read all the comics, but looking forward to the TV series on Netflix. Maybe I should check out the audio version too.

!LUV !PIZZA !LOLZ

I called the Tinitutus Helpline.
It didn't stop ringing.

@swarddraws, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @steevc
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ. (1/1)

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
steevc tipped swarddraws (x1)
@dbooster(1/8) tipped @swarddraws (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Very cool black and white work 😅☺👌👌👌🥃 I hope we soon see more.

Great drawings! !PIZZA