You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Steemit In An Economic and Social Death Spiral??

in #deathspiral7 years ago

What is the purpose of the Steem Blockchain?

It's everything on the list plus whatever anyone else comes up with (that is the nature of decentralized systems).

Accordng to Steemit Inc it is:

Steem is a blockchain-based rewards platform for publishers to monetize content and grow community

Source

Does it really matter? Once SMTs are rolled out we can build our own communities with their own set of rules and it's own interfaces.

No disrespect intended but I think you are overreacting.

Sort:  

I can see your point, and the thing that surprised me was when I was going on my merry way and thought everything was great, then I found the comments on blocktrades post. Did you read that? https://steemit.com/blocktrades/@blocktrades/blocktrades-now-offering-steem-power-delegations

It was this comment that got me thinking about it more deeply:

[-]joe.public47 · 2 days ago
buying delegations !
i dont think this is such a good idea.
its the mony lenders who fucked the world, why would you want fuck this platform as well?

I thought about it a bit more and I think that under the current conditions all of these SP delegation schemes are not good for the platform and made a post about it.

https://steemit.com/steem/@onthewayout/why-steem-power-delegation-services-are-bad

I'm not trying to stir up shit. I am trying to figure out if we are all blinded, at least those of us with significant SP. Are we in a myopic state where we cannot even see how to improve?

I did read the post but did not go thru all of the comments. To be honest I used the service to get some extra SP. It was an impulse decision that I regret. Afterwords a did the math and realized that to get back my "investment" I am going to need to auto-vote seven times per day at full power which is not what I wanted the extra SP for.

Are we in a myopic state where we cannot even see how to improve?

That is a tough question...the main reason being that not everyone will agree on what needs to improve and how to change things. Some will not see a problem at all.