You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Public Debates Are Going To Shit

in #debate6 years ago (edited)

I sometimes (Just recently one time ) use logical fallacy names, but I always put an explanation and the personal example as to how or why this applies to my argument. Because it's hard to follow for watchers, It's just like using jargon.

I'm all new to this stuff too. I don't have a problem however with them being there for the list of logical fallacies can also untangle a lot of arguments you've once heard, that you at the moment could not put a finger on why the argument does not sit right,but you have no way (at that moment) of explaining it. Knowing them also helps to understand yourself and articulate your own arguments better, some have even changed my mind when I saw the explanation in the list.
What I also noticed how often there are tactics (manipulation) used in conversations, to shut you up or to deviate the conversation. Now for me those tactics have become clearer and I can do something about it......sometimes....when I catch it.

Then again I agree it's annoying, when it's a back and forth of only the name of the fallacy With no explanation as to how it relates to what you have to say or what the other is saying.

What is even worse is the sentence; not an argument........ without any explanation.