You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 3 Reasons We Need A Steem Debit Card Now: Let's Do This Before Nexus Social Does

in #debitcard7 years ago

I'd love to spend my Steem more directly. I've got a Bitwala card that uses Bitcoin, but that's slow and incurs fees. Steem would be better, but it's just not big enough for companies to take it really seriously. Maybe if Bitcoin hits problems they will look at alternatives. Meanwhile the Bitcoin on my card is gaining some value :)

Sort:  

I also got a BitWala card. I just tested it the other day for the first time and it works. The exchange into BitCoin is annoying and costs the usual whooping $5 transaction fee. But I think it works pretty fast although I was waiting over an hour for the tranaction. Compared to several days with my bank this is ligthning speed.

I compared the fees to some others, e.g. Xapo, and it seemed similar. I accept there will be some costs involved. I've used mine a fair bit on-line and in shops. It's worked most of the time.

hey @steevc, bitwala is really slow and although fees are supposedly lower than other bitcoin cards, their fee structure can be confusing.. see my article below about wirex.. (in the meantime) until steem sort out a card !

It's working for me. @teambitwala are on Steemit. Hope they will get active again.

I hope it all works well for you @steevc there are lots of different options coming out all the time !