You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Debt On Track To Destroy The American Middle Class

in #debt6 years ago

@zer0hedge,my thought is, if I am going to give any substantial gift, it is going to be something permanent that materially improves their situation. In other words, keeping them out of student debt should college still matter at that time, keeping them out of car debt on their first car (but not expensive), something like that.

I am still a long way from that time, but I did see some parents ruin their kids by giving them money to maintain a lifestyle that could not reasonably be maintained by someone in their late 20s or early 30s after the parental money should be cut off. That causes the child to go nearly crazy towards their parents, spouse, or both for more money, when in reality they need to reduce their lifestyle to build wealth.

Living in a retrofitted greenhouse for $140 a month in college didn't kill me, and driving a crappy cars in grad school didn't kill me either. Having no school or car debt, however, is super awesome.