Paying off debt with profit from Crytpo trading (After Tax)

in #debt6 years ago

Some people dream of Lambos, I just dream of paying off debt and living a more relaxed life, so that's what I did.

I sold off my crytpo currency. Now I didn't sell off all of my crypto currency.  I sold off just enough to pay off a large majority of my debt which has freed up nearly $200 a month. 

It took me only 2 and a half months starting with 1.2k USD to work up enough to do this. Unfortunately I can not say it was skill, it was luck going on a gut feeling. I flipped BCH and BTC both over and over on the day BCH launched while they were both making wild swings in price.

I then threw all I had into Lumen and Ripple and other under 1 USD coins as well as a handful of litecoin, a half an ETH and a full Dash. This was the makeup of my portfolio prior to thanks giving, I did a lot of trading between things on dips.

I didn't throw money at coins I didn't believe in for profit though and didn't jump onto randomly hyped ICOs. I actually only participated in one ICO, electroneum, which paid off big time for what i put in, which was not much at all. This is the only ICO I liked so far as it creates another form of revenue in the video game industry that I could see actually taking off. 

Though people may think I was crazy to sell off 3/4 of my 14 times returns in 2 and a half months, it feels really good to not have the crushing weight of debt on my shoulders. Now I still have student loans, but I went to a technical college for 2 years, and I work as a software engineer, so that didn't concern me as much as high interest credit cards. 

I honestly don't think I'll regret selling off this much crypto to pay off debt, because at least I didn't spend it on pizza and I'm already much more relaxed about my bills.

Thanks for reading! I'd like to hear your opinions on what you would sell your crypto to pay for? 

Would you have done the same as me?

Sort:  

Excellent! That's great to hear. Paying off debt is a good move.

Yeah it felt great!

Yes... That's great! I started with crypto in march, and I'm really happy how things are going... but I never withdraw, so I'm seriously thinking when to cash-out a little bit.
Have a great day
Steemitri The Mannequin

I had to seriously think about it. Though what I was holding would have easily gotten me to double the gains I had by the prices now, I don't regret paying off a nice chunk of debt. To cash out you have to be ok with that potential long term loss. I feel the stress off of me is better for my health over all though.

Congratulations @dsantrat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!