What is steemit ? (A simple question)

in #decantralization6 years ago (edited)

This is my first post and English is not my native language but I'll do my best.

I'm very new to that cryptocurrency community. For around 3-4 weeks I'm trying to understand the logic. As far as I understand from what I read and what I saw decentralization is the key point. Today I read whitepaper of a project called enigma. (https://www.enigma.co/enigma_full.pdf)
And those first paragraphs affected me deeply.

Since early human history, centralization has been a major competitive advantage. Societies with
centralized governance were able to develop more advanced technology, accumulate more resources
and increase their population faster [1]. As societies evolved, the negative effects of centralization
of power were revealed: corruption, inequality, preservation of the status quo and abuse of power.
As it turns out, some separation of powers [2] is necessary. In modern times, we strive to find a
balance between the models, maximizing output and efficiency with centralized control, guarded by
checks and balances of decentralized governance.
The original narrative of the web is one of radical decentralization and freedom[3]. During the last
decade, the web’s incredible growth was coupled with increased centralization. Few large companies
now own important junctures of the web, and consequently a lot of the data created on the
web. The lack of transparency and control over these organizations reveals the negative aspects of
centralization once again: manipulation [4], surveillance [5], and frequent data breaches [6].

For days I'm checking the content in steemit and trying to decide what to write. I checked many content in new posts. But most of them seem like some pile of words with no meaning at all. I'm pretty sure some of them are just google translates of foreign content. And I feel like there is always some kind of upvote competition going on .

I know of course, there are also some high quality content. But what is the percentage in total.

But in general I feel like decentralized community is again creating its own golden centralized cage.

Maybe I'm all wrong maybe I got the whole idea wrong. If that's the case please enlighten me.

Is steemit right now what it is supposed to be?

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.enigma.co/enigma_full.pdf