You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Decentralized Banking Is Not a Dream Anymore but is Actually Happening

in #decentralization6 years ago

My 2 cents: Within 5 years Smartphones, after 5G integration, (I'm working on that actually) will contain a Secure Element microchip (as in a hardware wallet like Ledger Nano S). Making those secure element chips in bulk brings the price down and gives total security wherever you go, you only need your pincode. This will make any hardware wallet obsolete

Sort:  

Agreed with the concept and prediction, @wouter-v.

While I admit hardware is not my field and I thus may be mixing up things here: doesn’t Apple already have a secure enclave on its more recent chips (last 2 mobile generations)?

I know, Spectre.

Additionally, Apple isn’t likely to open that enclave to developers, but it would be the proof, without pudding for now, that your prediction is a sure future.

Not sure if the secure enclave would be able to generate a private key right now. I expect Android to take the lead soon..., Huawei, Samsung, Oppo etc. Interesting times..