Down the Onion Memory Lane. The story of a 40 week DeepOnion airdrop participant.

in #deeponion6 years ago (edited)

As Deeponion approaches the end of the airdrop campaign I’d like to share with you my personal journey which begun on July 6th, 2017, the day I have discovered Deeponion on the Bitcointalk forum.

Like many of you, my first introduction to the exciting world of cryptocurrency was Bitcoin. I learned about it as early as 2012 and closely followed the Mt. Gox fiasco and it's subsequent great crush of 2013. That was also the beginning of a lengthy bear season which lasted well into 2015 when we saw the price drop from over $1,100 to below $200. It was a great opportunity for me to learn as much as I could about this great technology and discover new coins. I spent hours each day navigating through the announcement threads and reading all I could find about it. Overall getting involved with cryptocurrencies was life changing for me.

Fast forward to early July, 2017, I stumbled upon the pre-announcment thread for DeepOnion by a mysterious user by the name of crypto-rainbow. During the following days it started to build up towards the main announcement event and when the airdrop details were finally revealed I had an instant feeling that this could be huge. I know many of you shared the same sentiment as it was clearly evident on the many early posts.

DeepOnion arrived at a time when the crypto scene started to become toxic and over-crowded with ICO's so it was a truly refreshing opportunity to join a project that puts it's community at the forefront without sacrificing quality development. Also, this airdrop brought back fond memories of the very early days when a new cryptocurrency was all about the grass roots.

It was amazing to see how fast a community was built around this project and it became DeepOnion’s biggest asset. The Bitcointalk thread became one of it’s most active of all time and it was quite the chore to keep up with all the new posts every day. As an active participant I have been trying my best to spread the good word for DeepOnion which at times meant fighting back the FUD:

Screen Shot 2018-04-04 at 22.19.11.png

As for the airdrop rules, some found them rigorous and criticised the distribution model. However, in my opinion you can’t build a strong community without a sense of responsibility. That was a brilliant move!

Since the beginning I was immensely impressed at how hard the dev team worked to introduce new features and keep up with the very ambitious roadmap. My personal favourite was the introduction of DeepVault :

Screen Shot 2018-04-04 at 22.18.07.png

And so the journey continued and the airdrops kept coming. But the most fun I had was in the official DeepOnion forums . I enjoyed chatting with members and even made some good friends. Thanks to the forum I was also encouraged to create my very first meme:

1zjpgf.jpg

As I navigate through my posting history I found a couple of my threads that bring back fond memories:

Is Bitcoin Better Than Gold?

Real Stats: Turning A Small Amount Into $1,000,000 With Crypto

What If The B2x Fork Is “canceled"?

The airdrops are almost over but the journey has only now begun!!!!

In closing, I believe that Deeponion is at the forefront of fighting for our freedom for privacy and anonymity. Our community is one of the most passionate in the entire cryptocurrency scene and a strong advocate for it’s important cause. The team is extremely talented, experienced and motivated. Among them I have to point out Deeper, DogLover, Impressive, themonkii who are nothing short of amazing! These guys eat sleep and breathe DeepOnion!

I see a great future for Deeponion and I strongly believe it can take it’s place as a top coin. I'm super excited to continue the journey together with all of you!

HckOOUc.jpg

Sort:  

The story of DeepOnion has only just begun.

A beautiful story, thanks for sharing!

Congratulations @yobaa! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Play-off for third result


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @yobaa! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!