You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Delegation Update] @SocialBot Delegated 100 SP to @SchoolForSDG4

in #delegation5 years ago (edited)

I keep seeing the same confusion as to the 120% reward for delegators. My understanding is that those that delegate will receive a portion of the earnings of the post. So that the 100% earnings is divided among those that delegate. I personally delegated 1000 SP (it might be a little higher now) and I receive on average pretty close to what @azizbd indicated what 1000 delegation will earn. I say pretty close because sometimes it is more. The rate of return on what I delegated is very competitive. I know I have a few people I delegate SP that I earn less.

Now for the 20% which brings up the 120% issue. The 20% is what is earned through curation. ( "20% share of Delegators will be donated to charities on behalf of delegators from each powerdown by @SocialBot")

That curated earnings is donated to the charities. Those of us who delegated are helping to build donations to the charities mentioned or will be mentioned.

In other words those who delegate are earning a fair return and that extra 20% is our donation to good causes.

In the event you decide you no longer want to delegate SP you can go through the usual procedure to undelegate. If you do not want to delegate then do not.

I give a lot to charitable organizations via Steemit with no return expected. Here I am able to earn a fair return and have some donated to good causes. I do not get hung up on that a portion of earnings go to good causes and are not split among those that have delegated.

Everything I have read in several posts makes it clear in part the intent of the program is to help support @SchoolForSDG4, and other deserving social causes. And, as I see it spending money to promote this service makes sound business sense.

@azizbd, if I am mistaken in my perceptions please let me know.

Sort:  

I appreciate your feedback and time to read more details about @SocialBot. I will rethink how to present the extra 20% returns coming from curation rewards which is not actually going to delegators but going to charities on behalf of the delegators.
Your understanding is correct and more organized than I tried to present. I hope it will help me in the next post about the project.