You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It's official, regulated derivatives markets are here!

in #derivatives7 years ago

So far there hasn't been any advertisement revenue. Not sure if that is in the plans at some point or not. I think they are trying to build this as big as they can and then worry about monetizing later on, which is what a lot of the largest social media sites did as well.

Sort:  

If you check the "promoted" tab you'll find that the advertising scheme is actually built in. It's a bit insidious, but anyone that buys Steem or promotes content on the site is essentially buying attention of people on the site. It's harder to tell what is an add between what is a blog post, but this true for the rest of the net, I suppose.

I forgot about that, good point. I guess since not many businesses are here currently I hadn't really counted that, but yes that is a form of paid advertising. Good catch!