Project Showcase: Decorative Concrete Garage Overlay

in #design7 years ago (edited)

Flexible Garage Floor 17 - Pottstown, PA.jpg

It's been a busy summer; so much so that I haven't even made a post in months! As the season starts to slow down (sort of) now that we have officially reached fall, I will have loads on projects to share.

This particular site had several projects running concurrently: a concrete wood basement, concrete wood interior pool deck, and this resurfaced garage floor.

Flexible Garage Floor 02 - Pottstown, PA.jpg

This was a very straight-forward floor to prep for our coating, but it did have a fair amount of surface imperfections like small cracks and, in particular, many small divots. We patched them with our rubber repair compound as seen below.

Flexible Garage Floor 04 - Pottstown, PA.jpg

Once adequately repaired, it was on to the "broadcast" coat, where we lay out our liquid rubber waterproofing material and cast decorative flakes into it, permanently locking them in. The picture shows off some of the layering that goes into these floors.

Flexible Garage Floor 05 - Pottstown, PA.jpg

The final steps are to clean up the excess flakes, scrape the floor to the desired smoothness, and seal it up. While not the most impressive aspect of the works we did on this site, it was definitely the quickest. Stay tuned for the concrete wood floor pictures coming soon and I hope it helps inspire your own projects.

~B&A.jpg

Want to learn more about these sorts of concrete resurfacing projects? Interested in learning the trade for free? Check out The Concrete Protector of Philadelphia.

To see more projects like this, follow me @jae5086 (I'm saving the fancier projects for later when their are more followers to enjoy) and, of course, get inspired. 'Til next time...

Sort:  

My dad did things like that. Good work. I've helped my dad at times. Also, during college in New York & West Virginia, & I've been to PA. In my life, I've done some landscaping, gardening, maintenance work, carpentry, & other things.... and it can be rewarding.... reminds me of of Tim Allen & that show Home Improvement...

Nothing better than creating something for another person and having them love it. If I tried doing more general work though, I'm pretty sure I would burn the place down or something. No home improvement show for me.