Tribal Mask 3D Layered Design: From Vector to Reality

in #design2 months ago

Tribal Mask V4 3D Layered Preview 1.jpg

I've been working on a new 3D layered design—a tribal mask. This is version 4, and I've created a few more versions last year as well.
It's designed in Adobe Illustrator and consists of five different layers.

image.png

These designs are used by crafters to cut from various materials such as plywood, cardstock, and MDF to create cool wall art, keychains, fridge magnets, and more.

I typically save them in different formats to ensure compatibility with a wide variety of cutting machines.

image.png

To make it easier for crafters to visualize and for me to create previews without actually cutting the files, I use 3D software to create presentations and previews.

ith Blender, I can import the SVG file, expand it, and create a 3D model.

image.png

It helps a lot because I can see how each layer is arranged, assess the proportions, and get a better sense of the 3D feel.

image.png

Then I import the 3D Model in Maverick Render and I can make it from different materials and adjust the light and textures to look kind of realistic

image.png
Here are a few renders created with it

Mask0.jpg

Mask2.jpg

Mask1.jpg

Mask4.jpg

Mask5.jpg

Mask3.jpg

After creating the previews, I develop an assembly guide so that crafters know the correct order in which to stack each layer.

image.png

Before it goes on sale, I send it to testers to ensure it's cut correctly and doesn't have any defects.
And here are some photos I got from the testers with the right to use it in my social media and shop promotions

Cut from Plywood and MDF with a laser machine

Tribal Mask V4 3D Layered Preview 2.jpg

Tribal Mask V4 3D Layered Preview 6.jpg

Tribal Mask V4 3D Layered Preview 5.jpg

Tribal Mask V4 3D Layered Preview 4.jpg

Tribal Mask V4 3D Layered Preview 3.jpg

Tribal Mask V4 3D Layered Preview 7.jpg

If you have a cutting machine and want to give it a try, you can get the digital cut files from my Etsy shop.
https://pixaroma.etsy.com
What do you think? Do you like the design?