The Time I Almost Strangled My Customer’s Teenage Son!

in #design6 years ago

generic-86527413-56a02d095f9b58eba4af448c.jpg


Image Source

Could you ever justify jumping across the conference table like at a heated family debate during Thanksgiving?
I’m typically fairly level-headed, but like everyone, certain people will rub you the wrong way, an off-topic comment may irk your sensibilities, then there’s the outright classic asshole to deal with.

The reoccurring problem with almost every job, every field, is people! How often do you hear jokes about someone walking into work and going postal? Smacking a coworker? Running over your boss with your car? Sometimes I think that pales in comparison to the annoying customers that cross your path over time. The coworkers you can learn to deal with, they come and go over time, sometimes you even may get the stones to tell them off. However your work-mates don’t pay your bills, your customers do. It’s because of this fact alone that we bend over backwards to accommodate every request of a customer, even when they seem ridiculously unreasonable. The customer’s always right, right? Why do you think there are entire departments devoted to “Customer Service”? I’ve seen cashiers and sales clerks unable to hold their tongues under the most reasonable exchanges with customers. It’s probably best to leave the unruly customers to the professionals.

About 6 years ago I was sitting down with a great couple going over the final touches on their new home and giving them a 3D tour. It was very exciting. I had met with them a few times over the previous months working out the designs and gotten to know them a little bit. It’s hard to remember all the details but from what I recollect she was a homemaker and he did some telecommunications work in various countries, usually accompanied by private security. I actually liked chatting with this couple about things other than the home design, I enjoyed their company a lot! They were very interesting people.

On the day in question they decided to bring their teenage son to show the home. We were introduced, but as a typical teenager he seemed very uninterested. I had been down this road before so I wasn’t bothered so much, after all, he wasn’t paying for it, nor involved in the decision making.

As we sat down in the conference room in front of the projector screen, I began describing the process of how we would view the plan, and how the program worked. Until this point they had not seen any 3D details , they wanted to wait until the designs were done. I always get very excited describing the program and details to customers, what we’re going to see, how it works, etc. They were very giddy and almost on the edge of their seats anticipating the tour through their new home!

timber-frame.jpg


Image Source

After I opened the program, and got most of the way through my description of it, the unamused teen looked up from his smartphone screen just long enough to let out a loud sigh saying something to the effect “Yea, this is no big deal we do this in school, I didn’t need to come for this”. Crickets at that point. The parents just stared at him with that scolding embarrassed parent look, and at the same time, apologized to me for their rude child. I took it in stride. I think I said something “Not like this you don’t”.

smartphone-in-hand.jpg


Image Source

Sure, his comments were rude and uncalled for, but you have to understand that this is what I do for a living. I’ve been using the designing software since its infancy and I’m always amazed at how its grown over time. Concurrent with cost of course. The software I use is very robust, fast and expensive to own a license. We were all very excited to view the home for the first time in 3D and needless to say, the little puke took the wind out of our sails. I wasn’t sure if I wanted to strangle him with the mouse cord or wrap him up with my roll of tracing paper and toss him out the window. Needless to say I was not pleased. It was a bit of my pride too. Here I am about show these folks my baby and I hear that it’s no big deal. Sorry Chester it is a big deal!

Computer-mouse-free-download-clip-art-on-2.jpg


Image Source

The remainder of the meeting went well, the customers were thrilled, but I could never quite get past the comments. Was I too invested in my work, was what I do becoming dated already? I guess I started to question myself a bit, even though the design was perfect and they build the home a few months later.

I’ve carried those comments for years now, never quite forgetting it. A few months ago this exchange popped up in my mind again, it seemed timely. We can all agree that the world is moving at an incredibly fast pace these days. We see the digital revolution happening, computing, crypto currencies, etc. So I thought to myself, was the puke right, it’s no big deal? Technology, social media, and information are all changing rapidly now. We live in an instant society, where you have everything at your fingertips. Where only a few years ago we would mail out endless copies of plans, now we mostly email. Even though it goes against my traditional sensibilities, its the wave of how people want their information.

So, where it burned me at the time, I think this young millennial, albeit rude, taught me a valuable lesson. And that is you’re only as good as your last trick! To stay relevant in this business you must continue to learn, sharpen skills, keep current with trends, demographics and technology. It was a roundabout way, but I guess 6 years later i figured it out. I’m still always very excited about new designs and love to show them to my customers, but I’m never going to be blindsided by someone telling me this is no big deal!

Thanks for reading!
Don't forget to check out my company's website to see more projects!
Casey
http://www.postandbeam.com/