W0olf's Design a Character Challenge Week #7 (Color Scheme) Entry

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

DAC (Color-Scheme) Cover.jpg

This is my entry for the @w0olf's character design based on his given color scheme.


Final image:DAC (Color-Scheme) progress n final.jpg

Here is the contest link.


Process

Medium : Photoshop CS6

My first idea for this challenge has something to do with nature because of the color palette that @w0olf has decided. But I tried to do something a little different. I thought green and yellow can be used to depict technology (like Matrix or chipset grid) so I go with that. The two shades of dark yellow (peach and chocolate) are used for the subject's skin and the rusty weapon. I also put some white for highlights and a low-opacity layer of black for the shading part.

The whole designing process including the animated gif at the bottom took about 3 to 4 hours. The character is perhaps a hero that was teleported into a digital world, or a sci-fi landscape with giant computer hardwares as its infrastructures. Or he was shrinked and forced to fight viruses or the technology itself. Maybe it happened in a dystopian or a post apocalyptic world too, which explained his retro/futuristic fusion of a weapon. I imagined this character design could work in a simple game or 2d animation with limited color. And I thought of a name for him. His name was Kylo Byte. Ok, just kidding. I dont really have a name. If you have any suggestion, you may put it in the comment. :D


The following single images are my progression to the final outcome:

DAC (Color-Scheme) progress a.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress b.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress c.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress d.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress e.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress f.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress g.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress i.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress j.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress k.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress l.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress m.jpg
DAC (Color-Scheme) progress n.jpg


The process gif:

DAC-(Color-Scheme)-process-gif.gif


I also made a simple animated gif for this challenge:

DAC-(Color-Scheme)-animation-(small).gif

So that's it for this post. Thank you for your support and for visiting my blog. Until we meet again.

DQmSMMbAW5yXcJhq1TVFjzQkZQ2cBwKRGrttk9i4wT7GYio.png

Sort:  

Really amazing piece of art work, you put a great effort in it.

Yeah. I tend to do that all the time. Wish I can let go pointless things. Thank you, bro. ^_^

Wow I'm so impressed by your entry. And you even made an animation. Very talented my friend. You got yourself a new follower!
The design made me think of Kick Ass at first because of the colors. But with a TRON twist on it!

I see it taken place in an elaborate laser game. But each participant must fight for their life to escape the dome.

His name? What about Atom...

Yess, I thought of KickAss too. Atom sounds pretty neat. My goodness, thank you for your comment and following.
You've just made my day. :DDD

SOLID AF, BRO! 👍👍

Thank you, big bro. :D

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Well done :)

Thanks, man! 😊

Woah great job! Love the gif at the end. Super cool design and your blog is awesome as well. If you'd be interested in connecting with other artists we'd love to have you as part of our group, please take a look at our Discord channel. We encourage members to upvote each other within the group and support each other with our Steemit journey :)

Hi there! I've heard so much about Discord here so I thought I'd give it a try. Just signed up for Discord to see how the going-ons in there, but still awkwardly navigating the app. Thanks for your invitation and kind words! ^^

Damn nice.. r u using wacom to draw the character?

Ty!
Yes, sir. Wacom Intuous Pro to be exact. :)

Wow, freaking awesome entry @afique! :D
Really like your technologic approach on the colors!
Nice design and professional execution :)
Thanks for participating!

Thanks @w0olf, I tried my best in my limited time.
My gratitude for hosting the contest. Good day! :-)

mlampau krim hebat..

Terima kasih, Mr. @rambai. XD

Love the animation!! Been thinking of animating one of my cartoons too :D

Would love to see that, bruh! Ty!

Congratulations @afique! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!