ENTRY FOR - DESIGN A CHARACTER CONTEST - COLOR CHALLENGE

in #designacharacter6 years ago (edited)

Design a character contest by @w0olf : Color Challenge

https://steemit.com/designacharacter/@w0olf/design-a-character-contest-week-2-color-challenge-win-sbd

cover.jpg

Hello Steemians!

Today I will be showing you my character, Naylie that I have created for @w0olf design a character contest : color challenge. The challenge is to

Design a character based on a given color scheme

DQmazjsRRHdN2xHR2hMbnBPLeoRSDo4eVSsnNngscM45as3.png

When I saw this color scheme, my first thought was " wow, that's a nice combination of color" I've never really tried using bright neon colors much in my drawings so far but I was actually pretty excited to design a character base on this one :D Challenge accepted!

CREATING NAYLIE

For this color scheme, I wanted to create a futuristic warrior/ rpg character that's a bit grumpy and quiet but a strong girl. I guess I get the influence by playing lots of role playing games xD

1. sketch.jpg

I started as usual with a rough draft of my character. Keeping in mind that she is living in the future where its a trend to wear flashy colored shirt. Flashy is nice but I want my character to be a simple shy girl. So she likes things that will hide herself from people's eye but blending in at the same time. That's where the hat, specs, muffler, Jersey and boots comes in. They hide her!

2. sketch2.jpg

When I am okay with how she looks, I start to outline her with black lines. Somehow this time I'd like to make her a little sketchier so the lines are made to look rougher.

3. base color.jpg

Then I put the the base color on her to get the overall feel. This is the experiment process where I see if the colors complements each other.

4. shadings .jpg

Now it's my favorite part, the shading time. I use the darker shade of the base color to create depth and to emphasize some parts. Since it's the future, I thought let's make her hair glows and that's where the neon blue light come from.

5. done3 .jpg

Finally, I add more details and merge everything to duplicate. One of the duplicated one was turn to black to create the shadow. I added a glow to her sword to make it look like a saber and I am done!

I had fun creating her and we would like to thank you for stopping by and reading!

Cheers!

Love,
Ellie & Naylie

Sort:  

Really awesome, love it! Well done. :)

Thank you! Glad u love her @skippyza :D

@Elliebong this very cute. The sunglasses came out great at the end. The light saber is the perfect touch since this a Star Wars month. I gotta like your chances in this contest.

Heyy Thanks! The sunglasses hides her eye beautifully haha.. I didn't expect it too look good when I was experimenting with it but it comes out well :D Have you watched the latest Star Wars yet? I haven't had time to go D:

Your style is quite unique and you have a beautiful gallery! Love it!!

Thank you! It was really nice to hear you say it was unique xD I am still trying out different styles but I am comfortable with this style :D By the way, your entry for this contest is cute! I love the bear <3

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @elliebong to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I love it ahhhh!

😁❤️

I really like your art, it's very very sweet! <3

❤️ Thank you! That's very sweet of you xD